Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Starting a third person free roam game. Help with bits and pieces

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th May 2008 02:23 Edited at: 28th May 2008 08:54
hi guys,

I'm new to Dark GDK, and have been enjoying it so far with my experiments

I'm starting to make a third person free roam game. I'll probably stretch this games development out a couple years as I'm in no hurry, and wish to learn as I go.

I'm using the Dark Dungeon sample game as the start for this.

So thats basically all the code I have in the moment.

What I am having trouble with. Is changing it from first person to third person, and I wish to keep the crosshair.

I'm not sure where the camera related code if for dark dungeon. When reading through it. So I don't know where to replace the first person camera code with third person camera code, and I'm abit stuck as to how you make the third person camera.

And finally. How does getting into vehicles and driving them work theoretically?

thankyou for all your help in advance.

Regards ACE
jezza
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th May 2008 10:00
If you want third person camera, you first need to load a model for a guy.
EliteACE
Years of Service
User Offline
yeah I get that much, I'm not sure how to do the actual camera. I guess you set a point of origin somehow, where the character is, and then move back so many pixels or whatever behind. And then make the camera move around the character to a maximum of completely horizontal either side. so you can still aim with the crosshair. I just have no idea how to do this.
jinzai
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th May 2008 13:18 Edited at: 28th May 2008 13:19