Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / What in the world...

Author
Message
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 09:02


First of all, it just zooms out forever, doesn't even do anything.

Second, how could I make this better/faster?

I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
unitech
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 19:28
I would do it like this..
attemptToMoveCamera(float x, float y, float z, float)
and the call woudl be attemptToMoveCamera(0,0,10);
or
and the call woudl be attemptToMoveCamera(0,10,0);
etc...


Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 20:28
No, I need it to go to a precise position...



I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
unitech
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 20:52 Edited at: 3rd Jun 2008 20:54
attemptToMoveCamera(0,-10,0); Up
attemptToMoveCamera(0,10,0); down

attemptToMoveCamera(0,0,10); forward
attemptToMoveCamera(0,0,-10); backword

attemptToMoveCamera(-10,0,0); left
attemptToMoveCamera(10,0,0); right

This would move the camera Keeping it facing the same dirrection.

Now there is also turn right and left commands for the camera. And a go forward and come back.. Built in to GDK.
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:09
No, you don't get it.

I'm trying to move it to a precise position, not a position relative to itself.

I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:28
I have my camera set to orbit an object. It uses MouseMoveX and MouseMoveY to control the angle.

It moves instantly, like, it snaps to the position. I don't WANT it to do this, I want it to move gradually.

Like, if you wanted to set the angle opposite of what it was previously, you wouldn't get an instant flash and its there, itd take a half second or so to move over there.

I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
Image All
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location: Home
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:33 Edited at: 3rd Jun 2008 21:33
Look into the dbCurveValue and dbCurveAngle commands to get things smoothed out.

Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:34
Okay... but I want the CAMERA MOVEMENT to be smooth, not just the angle transition.

I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:36
Oh, I see where you're going with this. I'll try it...

I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:42 Edited at: 3rd Jun 2008 21:47
Gah, still not working.



I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
Image All
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location: Home
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:50
As far as I know, dbCurveAngle( ) already stays between 0 and 360, making the use of dbWrapValue( ) around it redundant. Also, what is your spd variable? The higher it is, the slower and smoother the motion will be. It represents the number of steps it should take to reach its destination.

Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:50
spd is 0.5.

I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
Image All
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location: Home
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:53
It should be much higher, try 10.0 and see how it works.

vonrims
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2008
Location: Aperture Science labs
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:53
As much as I understand, 0.5 is way too low. Try setting it to 5?
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:54
I really don't know what's wrong with it. Here's the entire header...




I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:57 Edited at: 3rd Jun 2008 22:00
Thank you so much, it works nicely now.

I'm having trouble with it, though.

Should I have a variable that stores MouseMoveX and Y?

[EDIT]Tested using variables, it worked. Cool, sorted everything out now.[/EDIT]

I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
unitech
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:57 Edited at: 3rd Jun 2008 21:58
oh, I see..

You could use vectors also...
void attemptToMoveCamera( int iVector, speed)

FYI..


I think the reason your code is not working, is because it never reports back.


I did a vector based like this.


unitech
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 21:58
Oh i see its fix, never mind..
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 22:06
Another problem - I can't zoom out!

I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
Image All
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location: Home
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 22:10 Edited at: 3rd Jun 2008 22:12
modified



take a close look

oh now i see what the first part of attemptToMoveCamera was, i must not have read the variable names correctly.

unitech
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 22:14
Quote: "/* wtf is this"
- NOW thats coding!!..
jason p sage
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 22:38
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 3rd Jun 2008 22:54
lol.

I AM THE ALL MIGHTY CORNHOLIO! Do you have TP for my bunghole?
Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 4th Jun 2008 05:46
Okay, why can't it zoom out...?

If you can do any models for FW, reply to the FleetWars thread.

Click here!
jason p sage
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 4th Jun 2008 17:21
Zoom is different from camera positioning. Zoom is often used to describe "magnifying" the view and is often done via changing the FOV of the camera and does not involve moving the camera.

You want to Zoom? Or Move the camera a certain way?

Zuka
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2008
Location: They locked me in the insane asylum.
Posted: 4th Jun 2008 20:47
Check the code, jason. I have a "dist" variable. It can go lower, but won't go higher.

If you can do any models for FW, reply to the FleetWars thread.

Click here!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-29 21:23:02
Your offset time is: 2024-09-29 21:23:02