Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Saving tile maps as files

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Jun 2008 05:09
I'm fairly new to programming. I've read the entire "Beginner's Guide to C++" that Microsoft handed out and know most of the sprite commands in the DarkGDK quite well. I also have a good understanding of how the language works ( well, programming languages in general; the process of building and such ).

I have started a tile-based system for a 2D game. The tile grid is stored in a vector of vectors. I particularly like this approach.

sTile is defined as such:

I would like to store this tile grid in a file ( possibly the standard .map or .grid or something ). I've looked into C++ I/O a bit, and I have found a few tutorials that teach basic text file writing and similiar. I can save the map data into a file, but I can't read it back into the vector. How should I save and load the map? The tutorials I found weren't very video game-centered.
aersixb9
Years of Service
User Offline
You can only store primitives in files for some reason...they haven't written a good object-storage-mechanism in files? Ironically you can't store objects in *@%&#*&%@# databases either...

Basically you'll need some custom code to save all the variables inside the vector into a text file, and then to read all the variables out...does that make any sense?

Alternatively you could serialize the vector, but that's probably even more hassle...although I'm a serialization noob?
Mahoney
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Jun 2008 06:20
Is there any variable-to-string conversion process I need to know about?
aersixb9
Years of Service
User Offline