Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Making a 2d rpg in Dark GDK

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm wondering how to start out to making a 2d rpg in Dark GDK because I'm fairly new to game programming. Would be nice if someone could tell me some basics of starting out.
Thanks, Tyler.
Mahoney
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Jun 2008 21:53
I've started working on the same. I'll share what progress I've made and, hopefully, it will help.

First off, make sure you know C++. More than just the basics of data types and operators. Know all about classes, inheritance, and, if possible, templates.

Secondly, learn all of the basic sprite commands and such for the DarkGDK. Mess around and learn them. Go through all of the tutorials ( 3D and 2D ).

Thirdly, start getting an idea for how you will organize the program. For that, start by googling "2d tile system" or similar. I don't have links, at the moment, but you'll find plenty of results. They will be for other engines, but you will be able to figure out what commands to replace. Also, if it's any help, you can see the very early start I have on my own tile-based system here:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=131201&b=22

I hope that helps.
I LIKE CEREAL
Years of Service
User Offline
I know a tiny chunk of C++. I keep reading stuff about the things but for me I just can't take it over and just start typing the code to do what I want it to do.
I LIKE CEREAL
Years of Service
User Offline
Also I want it to be like real-time where you can walk around instead of just click on the tiles or squares, same with the fighting system just click a button and you see your guy slash the monster.
I LIKE CEREAL
Years of Service
User Offline