Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Undead Chernobyl (FPS)

Author
Message
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 12th Jul 2008 22:45 Edited at: 18th Aug 2008 14:25
Hi friends! I have created a good LOD engine for DBPro. It works well on open terrain levels, so I've started to create FPS game about my native Chernobyl.
LOD system processes all trees (distant and near), all DBPro 3D primitives (plains,cylinders,boxes...) with different textures and all particles on the current level.

First screenshot attached, skysphere and grass is switched off...

Software HDR demonstration (Video in DivX):
http://forumfiles.thegamecreators.com/download/1569325

Attachments

Login to view attachments
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 12th Jul 2008 22:50
Second screenshot with particles system.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
nackidno
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2007
Location: Där solen aldrig skiner
Posted: 12th Jul 2008 23:00
Nice.

- Elias, Damezean, Nackidno, Wonderboy

AntocGames - http://antocgames.se.nu/
Phosphoer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2007
Location: Seattle
Posted: 13th Jul 2008 00:15
Looks pretty sweet ^^.

This is a random sentence about squirrels.
Xenocythe
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2005
Location: You Essay.
Posted: 13th Jul 2008 19:41
Hey man, this is looking pretty great!

3.11 We do not tolerate posts made for the purpose of putting down another forum member, group of members, religion, our company, our staff or any of our moderators, past or present.
onkypokey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2008 22:02
nice indeed!
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 14th Jul 2008 22:19
Thanx friends! Take a look at new screenshots. Added skysphere, grass LOD function (not finished), phototextures on terrain, light system.

To do:
- better particles LOD (only 10% to do)
- Deep soft shadows (software, no shaders)
- NPC controll system(created 65%)

P.S. Sorry for next posts, bu I have some problems with my web browser...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 14th Jul 2008 22:22
Next screenshot:

Attachments

Login to view attachments
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 14th Jul 2008 22:25
and another screenshot:

Attachments

Login to view attachments
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 14th Jul 2008 22:32
Screen of some LOD trees in a day light...

By the way, I'm going to Chernobyl and Prypjat on the next week to make some pictures of destroyed buildings, cars tombs, distant pictures of nuclear station and Chernobyl. This is not legal, so I will travel alone for some days in "zone". I just need a lot of phototextures

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mulderman
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jan 2004
Location: C:\\
Posted: 14th Jul 2008 23:58
http://pripyat.com/en/

Has photogallery, maybe you will also find some there.

And it's alot safer. AFAIK you can travel there and even take pictures. I dont remember exactly but i guess there was a man who will walk around with tourist. They dont let people to walk around there freely.

I have read it somewhere but i dont remember where.
Vorg1
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Seattle
Posted: 15th Jul 2008 00:53
Looking pretty good. The close up ones look really good but some of the others the plants look really sparse. I also agree with mulderman it is still pretty dangerous over there. Also maybe play a lot of COD 4 lol. Good Luck
nackidno
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2007
Location: Där solen aldrig skiner
Posted: 15th Jul 2008 00:57
Quote: "Also maybe play a lot of COD 4"


Or STALKER, it holds far more info about Chernobyl than CoD4.

- Elias, Damezean, Nackidno, Wonderboy

AntocGames - http://antocgames.se.nu/
Vorg1
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Seattle
Posted: 15th Jul 2008 01:23
I never got stalker because I heard it was pretty bad from a friend of mine. But I guess that also.
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 15th Jul 2008 22:19
It is not dangerous to travel! I live in 70 km from Chernobyl Look at my photos from my last year (non legal ) trip:

Attachments

Login to view attachments
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 15th Jul 2008 22:20
And another photo:

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Silvester
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 15th Jul 2008 22:32
Its only Dangerous if you stay there for a long time, Since the radiation level is not deadly when exposed only short...

Anyway, it looks like a warzone, but then a nuked one...
Homey the Clown
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 16th Jul 2008 23:14
...your going to get cancer. lol

"I don't think so... Homey don't play that."
-Homey D. Clown
Intel Pentium 4 2.4Ghz processor,512MB Ram,GeForce4 MX 4000
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 18th Jul 2008 14:57
...your going to get cancer. lol
I think that you know absolutely nothing about radiation. I have a master's degree of radio engineering... I know the risk's... And I have a radiation map of the zone and good radiometer. In my city Zhitomiir high natural level of radiation (in some areas about 70 mkRg/h), but it is enough usually for Ukrainians
Homey the Clown
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 18th Jul 2008 21:55
ok...it was kind of a joke. but thats cool

"I don't think so... Homey don't play that."
-Homey D. Clown
Intel Pentium 4 2.4Ghz processor,512MB Ram,GeForce4 MX 4000
Silvester
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 19th Jul 2008 09:36
Quote: "...your going to get cancer. lol"


One simple answer, What isn't these days? Even the air we breath can get you cancer... But anyway, thats not the topic.
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 19th Jul 2008 22:45
Thank you for your comments!
I updated a LOD-engine for work with bushes. I think that bushes now look fully decently.

Screenshot included ...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Deathead
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 19th Jul 2008 23:00
3DSchumi, when you are going to spark up some media into it I recommend you search for Abandoned City pack, and I think Strelok made a pack, which was very Chernobyl Orintated. Also Good luck on this.

p.s. Strelok didn't release the pack, he hasn't been online for a while.


3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 19th Jul 2008 23:25
Deathead
Tanks! I'll see what will be able for my game...
Osiris
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 20th Jul 2008 19:59 Edited at: 20th Jul 2008 20:02
http://www.nuclearflower.com/pripyat/pripyat.html

Check that link out for some nice pics there. Also, you could get cancer from radiation, however you would probably die from the radiation poisoning first

[Edit]
They also creepily remind me of the levels in COD4, they must have gone there too!

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 20th Jul 2008 21:10
Thanx Osiris OK friends, take a look at a new screenshot, weapons is now working well.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Deathead
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 20th Jul 2008 21:12
Quote: "
[Edit]
They also creepily remind me of the levels in COD4, they must have gone there too!"

I think they visited Chernobyl and the other places for references.


3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 29th Jul 2008 22:58
First video of Undead Chernobyl attached...
It runs in 3 times slower because of fraps 24 fps video grab... originally fps is about 85-95 fps on my pc.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
nackidno
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2007
Location: Där solen aldrig skiner
Posted: 29th Jul 2008 23:42
Really nice!

- Elias, Damezean, Nackidno, Wonderboy

AntocGames - http://antocgames.se.nu/
DBer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2007
Location:
Posted: 30th Jul 2008 12:27 Edited at: 30th Jul 2008 12:32
Looks really good. I like the abandoned fireplace
Can you show us a screenshot which shows, how fast your LOD-engine is? (a nice and huge landscape)

Anonymous User
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 30th Jul 2008 13:17
Wow, this looks like it could be a great FPS.

???
GhostDogg
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Dec 2007
Location:
Posted: 30th Jul 2008 15:18
I really think that there's much things to work on, but otherwise it looks quite good. There are some things i noticed: 1.The player walks too slow.Maybe if you double the walk speed it will be alright. 2.The shooting animation is really bothering me.It just looks incomplete.The recoil looks ok ,but then seems like it's stuck and suddenly it comes back to normal.If you can, fix it, please. and 3.The reload animation looks like it's in slow motion. Other than that the textures and the fire look ok. So keep up the good work.

Cheers!
Diggsey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 30th Jul 2008 16:50
Make everything timer-based Because of the lower FPS it has slowed everything down in your game.

Yuor signutare was aresed by a deslyxic mud...
Curious? CLICK HERE!
DBer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Mar 2007
Location:
Posted: 30th Jul 2008 19:09 Edited at: 31st Jul 2008 11:23
@GhostDogg:
This could answer your question concerning the slow reloading animation
Quote: "It runs in 3 times slower because of fraps 24 fps video grab..."


Apart from that I agree on the player's moving-speed.

Anonymous User
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 31st Jul 2008 11:40
Quote: "Apart from that I agree on the player's moving-speed."


I would say that he's walking in that video, you should add a running options (like holding shift) which doubles your speed. But only for a certain amount of time. I did that in my engine and it worked fine. Also use tmer based movement, it's an absolute gem when getting your game to run on everyone's computers.

???
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 31st Jul 2008 22:30
Quote: "Can you show us a screenshot which shows, how fast your LOD-engine is? (a nice and huge landscape)"

ok, i'll show you the demo video later...


Quote: "Make everything timer-based Because of the lower FPS it has slowed everything down in your game."


Done but i'll show you the video later, after finishing AI.


Quote: "I would say that he's walking in that video, you should add a running options (like holding shift) which doubles your speed. But only for a certain amount of time."


Done!

screenshots and videos later...
Anonymous User
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 2nd Aug 2008 14:24
Quote: "Done!"


Well that was quick

???
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 13th Aug 2008 00:53
The next video demonstrates software HDR+Bloom+"eye adaptation". Pixel shaders support is not needed, but it works fast

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Osiris
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Aug 2004
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 13th Aug 2008 02:03
Looks great man. However in your test level you should cut a hole in that roof where the tree is protruding, it looks a lil weird like that.

RIP Max-Tuesday, November 2 2007
You will be dearly missed.
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 18th Aug 2008 09:34
Quote: "Looks great man. However in your test level you should cut a hole in that roof where the tree is protruding, it looks a lil weird like that."
Thanx, but this level will not be included in the final version of the game . Its just for game mech. testing...

BTW, I have finished the AI for non-friendly NPC's! Screens and videos later.

P.S. After all optimizations I have 75-80 fps in av. My conf.: P4-3.2, 4096 mb RAM, 256mb 2600XT.
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 19th Aug 2008 08:51
Hi friends! New screenshot attached. It demonstrates "military stimulators" (drugs) effect.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Alucard94
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jul 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden.
Posted: 19th Aug 2008 20:36
The bloom effect really does add a lot to the game.


Master Xilo
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 19th Aug 2008 22:24
Wow looks amazing!
Did you make all the media yourself?
The terrain textures should be higher res, but otherwise..
AA

nackidno
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2007
Location: Där solen aldrig skiner
Posted: 19th Aug 2008 22:25
That guy looks transparent..

Otherwise it looks really good!

- Elias, Damezean, Nackidno, Wonderboy

AntocGames - http://antocgames.se.nu/
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 20th Aug 2008 08:35
Quote: "The bloom effect really does add a lot to the game."

Yep, but only if the bloom effect is not "crazy".

Quote: "Wow looks amazing!
Did you make all the media yourself?
The terrain textures should be higher res, but otherwise..
AA"

Yes, all the media is my work, only that NPC is from the FPC Creator for testing. In final version terrain textures will be 1024x1024. Current 256x256 is only for testing.

Quote: "That guy looks transparent.."

I think that after using drugs rhis is normall effect but... I dont know for real.
Deathead
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 21st Aug 2008 22:57
Quote: "I think that after using drugs rhis is normall effect but... I dont know for real. "

Well it would be weird if you was being chased by a pink elephant named jubbles.


Accoun
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2006
Location: The other end of the galaxy...
Posted: 21st Aug 2008 23:16
Nice. I like the idea of having shaders like bloom etc. overused when on drugs...

Make games, not war.
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 10:21
Quote: "Nice. I like the idea of having shaders like bloom etc. overused when on drugs..."
Thanx, but there is no shaders... only memblocks and math.
Accoun
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2006
Location: The other end of the galaxy...
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 19:52
Quote: "Thanx, but there is no shaders... only memblocks and math. "

So this screen on the top of the page was made WITHOUT shaders? Wow...

Make games, not war.
3DSchumi
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2006
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 26th Aug 2008 09:37
Quote: "So this screen on the top of the page was made WITHOUT shaders? Wow..."
Yep! No shaders at all...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-12 19:25:52
Your offset time is: 2020-08-12 19:25:52