Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Getting started with GDK, a basic question

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello, I'm a novice C++ programmer and I've been irritated at the lack of integrated graphics functionality in C++. I'd poked around at various graphics libraries, and toyed with just leaping straight into learning DirectX, but then I stumbled across Dark GDK and decided to give it a whirl.

What a wonderful thing you've created! It's so easy. I've just been reading the documentation and trying out commands, but I really like it so far. I set up a program to scatter random dots of random colors across the screen, and it was so easy. 2d graphics don't look like they'll be too difficult. 3d might take a bit of fiddling to get figured out...

Anyway, I do have a couple questions.

First, I'm trying to simulate regular C++ text output and input. Why? Because I want to that's why.

I can get it to display any text I want, in any color, in any location, just fine.

But I can't get it to accept input. The DBInput function doesn't seem to do what I want. I'm starting simple - I just want to be able to have the screen say "Input Number: " and have the user type in a number. Then I was going to spit out that number to a different location on the screen.

(This isn't just an arbitrary exercise - if I wanted to set up a scrolling chat window, for instance, I'd need something quite similar to this.)

But while I can use either the dbPrint or dbText to do standard text display, I can't seem to figure out how to accept user input. The only commands I can find for user input seem to be expecting data no more than one character long, and with no enter key to enter them in -- just keypresses. Am I missing something?