Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / My first ever program, tips and constructive critisms welcome.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Well here it is.

It's 2 player pong, player 1 uses the left and right arrows, player 2 uses Z and X, space starts the ball rolling.

There is no end, the points just keep clocking up, it does the job, and I'm pleased with the outcome, it's the first program I've ever written. I have no real programming experience apart from NWScript, I hope it's at least ok for a firsty.

- Scarface
Scarface
Years of Service
User Offline
No advice or critique?

I have modified the game a bit more, to allow inputing player names, and a couple of other small tweaks.

What do you think?

Also I was wondering about how to change variables globally. I have been using a struct for this purpose which to me seems like a pain in the backside, is there an easier way?

Cheers

- Scarface
jezza
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Aug 2008 16:10
It gives me this error as soon as the lower bat touches the ball
Unhandled exception at 0x004cffd6 in Dark GDK - 3D Game4.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000bbc.
And instead of z and x i would make the controls a and d
Scarface
Years of Service
User Offline
I am playing it now, it works perfectly ( or at least as intended )without any errors, the error must your end

I will make the controls for player 2 'a' and 'd', any other advice on the actual coding?

- Scarface
Scarface
Years of Service
User Offline
Hmmm actually now for some reason it is giving me that error, I will see what I did to cause it and then post the fixed version, I'm very confused now it was working fine 5 mins ago...

- Scarface
Scarface
Years of Service
User Offline