Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Error when debugging anything that uses Dark GDK.

Author
Message
Thumper
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Sep 2008 04:06 Edited at: 6th Sep 2008 18:56
I've wondered over this same problem for the past 8 hours.. (literally) i needed to make sure i couldn't figure it out before i bothered the pros


so here it goes.
it compiles fine
i start to debug, and the program abruptly fails
and i get runtime errors galore. they are as follows...

the first one.. :
Quote: "
Unhandled exception at 0x6604a92f in Hello World!.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x0cc2b000."


the second one.. ( after i hit "break" on the first runtime error) :

There is no source code available for the current location.



Any idea whats going on here? I'd appreciate a little help..
Please and thank you

~~ Thumper
elantzb
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th May 2008
Location: Classified
Posted: 6th Sep 2008 07:08
show us all of your code.

~you can call me lantz~
Thumper
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Sep 2008 15:59
It happens for any code no matter what i do.
Even the basic "Hello World!" program in the beginners tutorials.

The basic Hello World! program :


Like i said, it happens regardless of what i do.

~~ Thumper
amboleos
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2008 15:25
I think you didnt refer the lib of darkgk
check that

tools>options> projects and solutions> vc++ directories
then select include files
and look for
C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark GDK\Include
C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (August 2007)\Include
then select liblary files
and look for
C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark GDK\Lib\VS9,
C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (August 2007)\Lib\x86

if you cant find one of these, add this files to your vc++

[link=http://forum.donanimhaber.com/m_24381003/tm.htm]
[image]http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/3176/imzetu8.gif[/image]

[center][b][size=2]Ambolight
Thumper
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2008 19:44
Triple checked that..
I have everything that needs to be included..
here are the screen shots of my errors.. don't know if that'l help.. but here it goes


First popup after i hit the debug button...


Second popup after i click "Break" on the first popup


The disassembly...



Thiss is starting to drive me up a wall.. >.<

~~ Thumper
Thumper
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2008 22:23
So no one knows what i should do..?

~~ Thumper
IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 11th Sep 2008 23:28
Put a breakpoint on the first line, then single-step through your code - step-over is your best bet for the limited complexity of this code. When it crashes, it's the last line you code you ran that is the place you should at.

Mahoney
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2008
Location: The Interwebs
Posted: 13th Sep 2008 08:14
I'm curious what the disassembly is at 0CC2B000.

Windows Vista Home Premium Intel Pentium Dual-Core 1.6 Ghz 1GB DDR2 RAM GeForce 8600GT Twin Turbo
Thumper
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Sep 2008 16:35
I put a breakpoint on the first line of void DarkGDK ( void )

and it seems that the error happens before the program even starts. I start to debug it, and even though the breakpoint is on the very start of the program, the errors still come up the same as before.

~~ Thumper
Sinter
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Sep 2008 18:20
I get exactly the same problem, code runs fine under 'debug', but if I switch to 'Release' I get the same errors as you. Neither exe file (debug or release) runs outside of Visual Studio. Is this a simple settings problem? if so, anyone have an ide what it could be?
Problem is independant of code, I get this problem only using DarkGDK, even the sample files fail.
Thanks
Thumper
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Sep 2008 22:32
Ahh Sinter, it's nice to know that i'm not the only one in the world that had this problem. and yes, all the sample files fail, and its strictly with DarkGDK only.

I guess all we can do is sit and wait for a pro to jump by this post and give us his/her advice.

~~ Thumper
Thumper
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Sep 2008 22:35
Actually Sinter, my code doesnt even run under debug. thats exactly when i get those errors.

~~ Thumper
RPG
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 18th Sep 2008 21:13
Interesting problems here. Seems like your target settings in the project are not correct, or the compiler is simply unable to write the target executable to the target path.

Check for Debug and Release folders under your current project folder. You should see executables, and some debug symbol files in the debug folder. I expect any textures you are loading will be in these folders too (or in subdirectories of each).

If not, then you need to sort out why. Either its the project settings, or your OS is denying the compiler write access to the selected target paths for Release and Debug.

Let me know what you find out from this as a starting point.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-30 05:20:21
Your offset time is: 2024-09-30 05:20:21