Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Complete noob.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
hi, can some1 please help me, I am really new to GDK but would be interested in trying to get started.

If possible could some1 please post the source code to an existing driving game so I can try and learn from it.

---

Also, I have been playing a bit with the "Terrarin" map, what would also be good is for a tutorial or help (in noob language) on how I would go about adding a car into that map and adding gravity.

---

Many thanks

Anthony
jezza
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Sep 2008 22:26
OK, so firstly "Complete noob." is probably not the best way to title a post. As for your question, I cannot help as I have never made a driving game, but how much c++ do you know? Brushing up on your skills really helps, we have lots of newbs here who start GDK with no knowleddge at all, so it would be good to know so we can help you better.
AlexI
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Sep 2008 12:14
Well first you need to get a .x model of a car. Then you can use a matrix as the ground, and find a texture to go on it. You can set up the camera to follow the car.

Mista Wilson
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Sep 2008 08:36 Edited at: 19th Sep 2008 08:49