Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / organizing source files

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Sep 2008 01:35 Edited at: 26th Sep 2008 01:37
In my experiences as a programmer, I've tried to develop good management habits as I arrange my programs into multiple files.

Yet I keep getting stuck on this. I'll have a few files:
main.h:

main.cpp:

init.h:

init.cpp:

output.h:

output.cpp:

The above example obviously has issues.

What would be the best way to fix it?

How would I stick some of my methods in external files, whilst avoiding #include'ing my main header for globals that they depend on?

I know I could pass these globals as parameters from my main source file, but that doesn't always work out the best way.

~you can call me lantz~
xix psycho xix
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Sep 2008 02:06 Edited at: 26th Sep 2008 02:08
put all of the function declarations in one file, example, externs.h. Then add the #include <externs.h> header once for each .cpp file, and something similar for the variables
elantzb
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Sep 2008 04:11
could i get a second opinion?

~you can call me lantz~
Gasilli
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Sep 2008 04:15
What I do, is make a file with includes of everything, such as main.h, add all the files and for organising the actualy files I use a folder called components then have folders for each thing they do, for example: world, muliplayer, player, etc. Then I do a nameofcomponent.filename.cpp, keeps it quite organised.
elantzb
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Sep 2008 04:28
@Gasilli
Could I see an example? a screenshot or some other sort of visual?

@Everyone Else