Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Need a lot of help!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Oct 2008 22:39
I'm new to all this coding and such, the only program I have used is FPSC which I like but I need to move on to actual coding. How can I make an FPS with DarkGDK and I know a little of C++ but how do I learn more so I can start a game and learn?

Newb Game creator
SushiBox
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Oct 2008 23:14 Edited at: 14th Oct 2008 23:15
Load the FPS example that comes with DGDK, it will provide you with some nice insight on how most of the basic elements of a first person shooter are constructed using the DarkGDK.

Also, never hurts to brush up on your C++ skill. Make sure you have a broad understanding of Variables, Operators, Functions, Classes, Arrays etc.

EDIT: Almost forgot, good luck! I'm glad to see you decided to take that step forward.

www.Helios-Online.net
AndrewT
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Oct 2008 23:20
Start with this site:

http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/