Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Twilight Imperium Online Project

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey Guys

I'm a relative newbie to the forums here and frankly while I have created games in the past, I've never done it in as direct way as using a real programing language. In the past I have used tools like Vassal to create online versions of board games and card games. I have done plenty of world and level building with things like the Auro Toolset (NWN) and back in the day I even created game levels for counter-strike, duke nukem 3d and other things.

Anyway enough of the resume, clearly Im a relative newbie.

In recent days I have completed a project to put Twilight Imperium (http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ti3.html) the board game online using the Vassal Engine tools (http://www.vassalengine.org/community/index.php).

My next venture is going to be into the world of GDK and my goal is to create a fully function 2d (with 3d components) online game version of Twilight Imperium with the functionality of a real turn based video game.

Getting started in this project has been very intimidating, especially as I look at some of the coding required. So before I dive head first I would love to get some honest answers from the amature game makers to some questions I have about designing in GDK.

Questions

1. I realize that many people are using GDK to create FPS games in fully realized 3d enviroments and such. While great, im basicaly making a turn based board game. In your opinion is this going to be more complicated or simpler? Another words is creating an FPS actually simpler then a turn based game in which a sequence of controled events must take place?