Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / My new mp3 plugin free for all

Author
Message
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 3rd Nov 2008 18:27 Edited at: 1st Mar 2009 01:06
hi i`ve been working on this for about a month , i think it`s ready to release .


below is the commands


please try and let mi know how it`s goin .

thanks chunks

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Ambitious Guy
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Aug 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posted: 3rd Nov 2008 18:48
What programming language did you write this in?

I'm only 12 and I program. Hence the name Ambitious Guy
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 3rd Nov 2008 19:55 Edited at: 13th Mar 2009 23:18
i wrote it in c++ and used the wmp3 library it`s all built in so ya don`t have to worry about external dlls or libs .

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 6th Nov 2008 23:04
wow nobody tried this yet ,don`t worry it`s legit not a virus or anything.

Its got some cool features like getting the volume values of the sample so you can add in vu meters or make things move with the music, also there is a nifty echo processer .

will someone please give it a try because i could do with some feedback on this + mabey some ideas how i could expand this .

thanks

chunks

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Final Epsilon
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2004
Location: CA, USA
Posted: 6th Nov 2008 23:41
This looks really cool -- I'll check it out and give feedback after I've had a chance to play around with it.

Cheers,
FinalEp
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 7th Nov 2008 00:22
cool thanks look forward to it ,if people show some interest i will write some help files .


chunks

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
hungry hunter
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th May 2006
Location:
Posted: 7th Nov 2008 04:27
Very Cool, example worked without problem. I'll play around with more of the commands and let you know. Thanks good job.
Final Epsilon
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2004
Location: CA, USA
Posted: 10th Nov 2008 01:27
Sorry it took so long. I had a chance to play around with the example application and I must say it's really quite cool. I like the way you're able to monitor the volume output levels -- some cool visualizations could definitely come out of this plugin.

In that vein, do you think it would be possible for your plugin to do spectrum analysis too? eg -- a function that given some frequency range would output the intensity of those values? That would really lead to some cool visualizers.

Cheers,
Ep
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 10th Nov 2008 02:10 Edited at: 10th Nov 2008 02:12
I will take a look at that ,in the encoder there is a ten band equalizer which uses fft i might be able to re-arrange that to do spectrum analysis, also gonna add wav support and the eq .


chunks


edit: thanks for the feedback

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Syncaidius
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 14th Dec 2008 02:20
Any news on this, its looking good so far.

chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 17th Dec 2008 18:10
I was gonna add the stuff i said above like the fft but it was a bit beyond me lol , although when i get time im gonna add the wav and eq ,just a little busy with something else .

Its quite functional now though , try it .


chunks

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Nickydude
Retired Moderator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 18th Dec 2008 23:52
Can you play a certain section only of an mp3 file using this?

chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 19th Dec 2008 09:53
with the play loop command you can play a section then add how many times it is to be played.

there is also the seek commands , use seek then play mp3

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Nickydude
Retired Moderator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 19th Dec 2008 22:04
Carl CLD
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th May 2007
Location: Watch your back!
Posted: 2nd Jan 2009 01:54
Interesting! I'm downloading it. Thank you for posting that awesome work!

Ne pas mélanger périphérique et féerique, car l'informatique n'est pas du tout un conte de fées...
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 2nd Jan 2009 02:28
your welcome its all good fun ..

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere In Australia
Posted: 18th Jan 2009 08:29
Haven't actually tried your plug-in, but from the looks of the comments, it looks really cool!

I do have a request for a new command/function that you don't seem to have (from the list of commands provided earlier), and that is variable speed playback.

i.e. allow an MP3 file to be played back from say 20% normal speed to 200% normal speed.

keep up the great work (on this and your sequencer), cheers.
flashing snall
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2005
Location: Boston
Posted: 14th Feb 2009 22:43
Wow
I just downloaded the plugin, and I must say, nice job. Im using this one and the eap plugin together to get a really nice musical backdrop effect for a little game.

Thanks so much.

PGDO. it consumes my every waking moment, that is not already being eaten by work / school / sleeping
BMacZero
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Dec 2005
Location: E:/ N_America/ USA/ CA/ South
Posted: 15th Feb 2009 03:10 Edited at: 7th May 2009 01:44
I want to try this out, but it seems to be causing Codesurge to crash:

EDIT: Problem fixed, get the newest version of Codesurge!



flashing snall
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2005
Location: Boston
Posted: 15th Feb 2009 05:25
Hmm, this plugin caused havoc in the default dbp ide too. It was quite annoying, and I had to recreate the project and copypaste my source to fix it.

PGDO. it consumes my every waking moment, that is not already being eaten by work / school / sleeping
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 15th Feb 2009 14:14 Edited at: 15th Feb 2009 14:33
sorry guys i haven`t come across this problem , although i have only used one dbp test project throughout the development ,will take a look see if i can find where it`s coming from .

thanks for the feedback

chunks


:EDIT I have just downloaded the example from here , and tested a fresh project and no crashes , but remember did use close mp3 on exit .

ive just remembered i had problems with codsurge and opening default ide files , so i just went back to default editor.

anyways for now just make a fresh project and see if that works because i`m not having these problems , let us know how it goes .

chunks

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Butter fingers
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2006
Location: Mecca
Posted: 18th Feb 2009 15:39
Nice work Chunks! I like the effect commands. Pretty cool for stuff like caves and so on.

Are you still working on this. I would absolutely KILL for a 10 band EQ, a way to return the levels of each band as an integer would be sweedish.

Looking forward to an update.
butters

I want robotic legs.
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 19th Feb 2009 11:19
just on with update i`ve added midi like the gdk one and also a 10 band eq , i haven`t done the reading each band yet because i`m struggling with it , will get it done soon though .

I will update this when i`ve done a couple of examples , in the next few days


thanks chunks

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 20th Feb 2009 19:01 Edited at: 1st Mar 2009 01:07
Right here`s the latest update , it now has some midi commands + a ten band equalizer .

enjoy and let me know if there is bugs please.

ps : i`ve changed the name to dark audio cos it now contains midi.

thanks chunk.

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Destrugter 1
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Feb 2009 00:44
Hey Chunks, nice plug-in. I'm using the commands in one of my games, is that ok with you? Whom should I give credit to?
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 23rd Feb 2009 01:41 Edited at: 1st Mar 2009 11:19
thank you for the nice comments .


chunks

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Destrugter 1
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Feb 2009 19:25
There is currently an error with the plug-in. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but what I did was had an if statement like this.


What happens, is when the song stops playing, then it generate a random value for the next song to play, but the game freezes when it reaches the end of the song...any suggestions?
the_winch
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posted: 28th Feb 2009 22:12 Edited at: 28th Feb 2009 22:13
LIBWMP3 and MAD are covered by the GNU General Public License. Currently this plugin doesn't comply with the terms of the license.

By way of demonstration, he emitted a batlike squeak that was indeed bothersome.
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 1st Mar 2009 01:06
removed due to sorting out source code for release to comply with the gpl licence, its my own fault for not reading it , sorry guys .

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Valle
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2006
Location: in your girlfriends bed
Posted: 13th Mar 2009 02:11
will this plugin ever return? The dbp music commands are crap.
oh pleease


chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 13th Mar 2009 23:08 Edited at: 13th Mar 2009 23:13
The plugin is back attached to this post , all i ask is the licence is adhered to .


@ Destrugter 1 did u use close mp3 that deletes all the memory used by the plugin , it should do it automatically when the prog shutsdown but somtimes doesn`t .

Many thanks chunks.

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
hyrichter
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2004
Location: Arizona
Posted: 16th Mar 2009 06:08 Edited at: 16th Mar 2009 06:11
Hey, just so you know, your keywords file causes CodeSurge to crash on startup. On line 23, you have this line:
=commandsdark_mp3.htm=[Return ? as Integer = (int as Any type)]
I think it's probably a copy/paste error, but it causes CodeSurge to crash on startup. Anyone having that trouble, just remove the line so your keywords file looks like this:


I haven't tried your plugin (looks great, btw), but I just got an error report on CodeSurge with your keywords file. I'll be fixing CodeSurge to not crash when such things happen. Thought I'd let you know.

Edit: Looks like I should've read through the thread. I never realized this was a problem until today.

CodeSurge
Version 1.0 finally released! Code your DBP projects in style. (And save the kittens!)
chunks chunks
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 16th Mar 2009 17:46
cool thanks it was a keyword generator i used , i will fix for next release.

glad it helps to fix bugs too lol

chunks

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Destrugter 1
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2009 02:06
Yes, I did. I have a section of code when I exit the program it goes through and closes all plug-ins that have a closing option.

I was still using the older version of it (still called Dark MP3) so maybe you fixed it within that time. I'm glad to see it's back up though ^_^
Wally Wombat
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2007
Location:
Posted: 11th Apr 2009 17:40
Great plugin, welldone.

The examples work great but i seem to be having problems with it my own code. The load and play functions work fine but when I use any of the other commands e.g. get length or is playing mp3 I get a windows error. As I say the examples included work fine with these commands. Does this crash with other DLL's like EAP?

1 rem Scrabble variable table C16
2 sys 32655
Wally Wombat
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jul 2007
Location:
Posted: 15th Apr 2009 15:34
A quick update to my comment above.

I have managed to solve the problem with the get length or is playing issues. This seems to be a problem if the MP3 is not loaded first. Therefore the exist command should be used first.

Another thing I noticed is that once the MP3 has finished playing the system hangs as it try's to load another MP3. Do you need a delete mp3 command? I cant seem to find it the command list, and Close MP3 doesnt work.

1 rem Scrabble variable table C16
2 sys 32655

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-06-25 19:55:32
Your offset time is: 2019-06-25 19:55:32