Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / GDK Newbie

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Nov 2008 01:03
Hi,
I am a newbie to VS/GDK, but have been (amateurly) coding for <hrrumph>ty years.
(VBA is now my main method).
I have just spent more time than I should trying to write a simple program to print out the scancode of keys pressed. I have it now working after a fashion, but:
The whole thing would have been a lot easier if each keyword had a small example of how to use it. (This is actually not a GDK thing - VS Express has no examples). Maybe I'm spoilt by the VBA help files?
Anyway - first point, I was lucky to read in a forum post that the dbStr$() in the documentation was actually dbStr() - a simple (checked) example would have saved me so much time (and I have NO spare leisure time) that it's not even funny. So cheers for that.
Now my Question:
[code // turn on sync rate and set maximum rate to 60 fps
dbSyncOn ( );
dbSyncRate ( 60 );
int SC=1;
char* SCStr="Hi";
dbText(0,0,SCStr);
dbSuspendForKey();
// our main loop
while ( LoopGDK ( ) )
{
dbCLS();
SC=dbScanCode();
SCStr= dbStr(SC);
dbText(0,0,SCStr);

dbSync ( );
}

// return back to windows
return;
The main loop now works OK.
However the bit at the top (meant to say "Hi" until a keypress) just sits there and does nothing (until a keypress, when the loop works)
Can anyone point me in the direction of a clue Please?

Cheers
Sid
(PS - sorry if the code snippet thing doesn't work - I'm still trying to get used to it)
Swordsman
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Nov 2008 01:57