Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / dbText

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey there,

I am kinda new to Dark GDK. I'm now trying to print messages to the screen using the dbText function. Allthough when I use it; the message stays on the screen forever. Am I doing something wrong, or overseeing something, or is this intended?

I would like to know how to make a message dissapear again.

Thanks in advance.
Swordsman
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Nov 2008 23:04
Use dbCLS() to clear the screen, can you provide a bit more detail? Are you using it in the main game loop with dbSync as it will keep drawing itself every frame
SunDawg
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Nov 2008 23:04
dbCLS() is for clearing the screen. You can optionally provide a color as a DWORD, which you can get from dbRGB().

Screen is cleared with a red background.

My site, for various stuff that I make.
Gammer_
Years of Service
User Offline
I am trying to use dbText in the main game loop yes. Should I use it anywhere else? And when I use dbCLS it literally clears anything on the screen, also images etc. I had on it, wich is something I don't want. Or am I doing something wrong?
CheatCat
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Nov 2008 15:27
You must turn sync on, and redraw everything you want to have left.
Like this:
Gammer_
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Nov 2008 14:13 Edited at: 25th Nov 2008 15:02
So, if I want to remove some text created by dbText I need to clear the screen first, then redraw everything again? Is there really no easier way? This seems to work though.