Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Dark GDK Water?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey, im pretty new to C++ and DarkGDK, but my question is:
How would i add water to my game, with terrain?
The Real Abaddon
Years of Service
User Offline
using shaders.
Acidic Parisidic
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok, could you be a little bit more specific, What exactly would i need to do to shade in a little patch of water, I also use Blender if it helps any
jezza
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Dec 2008 17:42
A shader is a program written in either a high level language such as HLSL, or assembly language.
GDK uses HLSL. It tells the graphics card what colour to render each pixel or vertex.
You can download them from this site somewhere...
Acidic Parisidic
Years of Service
User Offline
ok would something like RenderMonkey, or NVidia FX Composer work, i have those programs as well?
Zuka
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th Dec 2008 22:11
FX Composer should work, and I know it produces nice results.
sydbod
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Dec 2008 02:03
Quote: "Hey, im pretty new to C++ and DarkGDK,....... How would i add water to my game, with terrain? "

The easy way is to just create a mesh object at the height of the water level. "dbMakeMatrix ()" and "dbPositionMatrix ()"

Texture it with a nice water looking texture. "dbLoadImage ()" and "dbPrepareMatrixTexture ()" and "dbSetMatrixTile ()"

Make the water looking mesh "dbGhostMatrixOn ()" and "dbUpdateMatrix ()"

Once you have the basics sorted, then maybe try the fancy way with Shaders.
Acidic Parisidic
Years of Service
User Offline