Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Time to Shop for Goodies... Any Advice?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Im now really thinking about getting some expensive tools for my hobby, but I don't know what I'll need.

I'll be getting leadwerks eventually, aside from that what should I get? Im totally new to C++ but I really like game design.
jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Dec 2008 11:57
Get the real 3D Studio modeling software if you can... pricey but its what the pros use... *.3ds files etc are made from it.

I'd do a ton of research man - I've bought more 3d software than I can use because there is something wrong with all of it.. and frankly its the overlap of things that do work that collectively serve as the tools to use.. if that doesn't make sense.. let me rephrase - sometimes three product together do one task I want through a bunch of labor.. sometimes that's good.. sometimes its because none of those hypothetical products 100% did what they said they would and I HAD to resort to multiple "passes" to get a particular job done.

If you like deisnging games.. PERHAPS .. you get that free FPSC and play a bit.. check out the realmcrafter demo... (FREE ..version 2 is supposed to be better but no free demo) ... um.. Scope out more than one game engine.. Irrlicht, Torque, Ogre, OpenGL, OpenGraph, DarkGDK C++ (free), DarkGDK.Net (30$ = no brainer) um... yeah...