Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / problem with dbSyncRate()

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi friends
I'm new with DarkGDK, i use 3d object sample of darkGDK, when i write dbSyncRate(30) it works and when i write dbSyncRate ( 60 ) it works too, but when i want something more than 60 it works like 60. ie when i write dbSyncRate(0) it works like 60 and when i write dbSynceRate(100) it works like 60 again, i mean my maximum fps is 60 anyway. do you know whats my problem?
regards
RanQor
Years of Service
User Offline
I just came across this bug as well, I've been told they know about the issue, and we still dont know when they are going to fix this.
jason p sage
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Dec 2008 00:09
true... true... but that doesn't have to "throttle" your game... meaning you can keep your own timer... and do other things until the right amount of time has elapsed - then render...

Basically.. 60frames persecond is 166 milliseconds per frame right? So if you set a timer when you render a frame, and then you're loop comes around and 166 milliseconds hasn't elapsed yet.. you could go call an ai function, or a series of functions to update things behind the scenes.. including moving objects etc...

This should in theory allow your program to utilize the CPU horsepower you have... without the 60fps "speed" throttling your code.

Additionally, I haven't delved into multi-threading to much in DarkGDK or DarkGDK.Net but multi threading might allow you to accomplish even more game processing than a single thread and the timer technique I mention alone.

--Jason

sydbod
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Dec 2008 00:14
Quote: "I just came across this bug as well,"