Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Object Collision

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Im trying to set up a game level with a generated terrain. There will be various creatures throughout (hoping to use some type of spawn-in system) and various buildings in specific locations that you can enter. The problem I am currently having is with object collision. First I tried setting it up manually with dbMakeObjectCollisionBox, dbSetObjectCollisionOn, and dbSetObjectRadius. Then, I tried working with the AutoCollision commands and GlobalCollision. I fear my noobism has got the best of me, any help would be appreciated!

The following snippet uses resources found in the DGDK tutorials if you wanna fire it up

I am new to this, but I am confused as to whether I should post in the Newcomers forum. Considering that it is titled 'DB Newcomers', and I am using GDK. Could someone clarify whether or not I should post my 'GDK Newcomer' questions there?
AndrewT
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Dec 2008 14:59 Edited at: 21st Dec 2008 15:01
First, don't use the built-in collision, use Sparky's:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=74762&b=5

Secondly, are you trying to make collision with the terrain? If so the easiest way is to cast a ray down/up from your player, find the distance to the terrain, then moving your player down/up by that much every frame. This method isn't perfect but it should work for now.

Oh, and nah you probably shouldn't post GDK questions in the Newcomers board; it's fine to post em here even if they're very simple.

study
Years of Service
User Offline
Do you mean we can always use Sparky's collision instead of built-in and its better too?