Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Any tutorials?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello everyone,
I am a complete noob when it comes to coding and was wondering if there are any tutorials that were suitable for me? Would the DBPro tutorials help me to get a grasp on DarkGDK? and would a C++ for beginners book also help me to get to grips on DarkGDK?

Looking forward to peoples replies.

BJKDAW
puppyofkosh
Years of Service
User Offline
Well, you should probably know c++(or get some experience in it) before you do DGDK. Since you are a "noob" to coding you should probably get down the coding basics too.

So I'd google c++ tutorials, and go from there.
bkinsman
Years of Service
User Offline
ok thank you, i have found a book on amazon which has a lot of positive 5 star reviews so i think i will purchase that, that way i have a complete reference in front of me.

BJKDAW
bkinsman
Years of Service
User Offline
Also, will i need to purchase the DarkBasic Pro Books to really get me started? I understand that DarkGDK is similar but i notice in some of the code i have seen that it is different in that you have to put "db" in front of commands? Does this mean it is completely different to DBPro?

P.S. yes i think i have contradicted myself there.

Hope someone can help, please.

BJKDAW
AndrewT
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Dec 2008 01:06
DarkGDK is identical to DBP, except you're programming in C++ and all the functions will have the 'db' prefix. It may help to learn some DBP basics but I don't think it'd be worth it to get a book. DBP is pretty simple, ad obviously DGDK is the same way.

bkinsman
Years of Service
User Offline