Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / Dll Creation

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Dec 2008 02:36 Edited at: 30th Dec 2008 05:04
Hi all,
i'm making my first dll in c++ (Dev C++) for DBPRO, and i have a problem and i want to ask the community for help since i'm a noob in c++ and OOP

I created a class in C++, and in a function i created a object of that class.

1) How do i return that object to DarkBasic and then to another dll function in another call.

For example (In Darkbasic):

bigHouse = createHouse()
setHouseHeight(bigHouse ,2)

2) Is there a way to know the object and call its methods in c++, if i pass the adress from DBPRO? (Or there is a way to do it)(IS the same question as 1) )?

If anyone can make an small example please do it since im new in dll making.

thanks
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Dec 2008 12:17
Quote: "(Dev C++)"

Dump it.
If you have a problem with using the MS C++ express compiler and want to stick with G++ then at least go with the CodeBlocks or Eclipse IDE's - Dev-C++ hasn't been updated for many years.

1. You can't.

What you can do though is cast a pointer to your class to a DWORD and pass that back instead. Of course, you'll need to cast it back to a pointer to your class when it's used as an argument.

2. There isn't.

Basically, you need to write standard function that accepts an argument to your DWORD/object pointer and convert that into a member function call.

BTW, if you go this route, make sure that you validate all the pointers being passed back to you before you use them.

Alfa x
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Dec 2008 13:50 Edited at: 30th Dec 2008 13:51
Hi, thanks for the help.