Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Help in Signs IV. Creating Text Displays and Room Segments

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Dec 2008 02:38
Alright, I was told to post questions regarding Signs in this forum. I recently purchased the software, and don't know where to start. I was hoping to find some 'beginner' tutorials, but there doesn't seem to be any.

So, the question I had at the moment was how to add a simple text display in my level; such as when the player walks down a hallway, a text will pop up in the bottom center at a point that reads, "where is everybody?", or any other phrase. I got a response via email, but I don't fully understand what it's telling me to do...I am NEW to the scripting thing...so I was hoping for a more dumbed-down, step-by-step answer

Quote: "
you create or use an object that your text is attached to. For instance, you create a picture to place on a wall. Signs asks if you want to create text for it. If you do, create the text you want to show and the trigger to show it, like when the player is within 100 units. Signs will create the picture and the script to show the text. Just place the picture in your level, and the proper script will be assigned by default."

I hope someone can help me with this problem. Thanks!

-Kravenwolf
MK83
FPSC Reloaded TGC Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Dec 2008 02:57 Edited at: 31st Dec 2008 03:00