Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / linker error "cannot find file"

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am having a problem linking with the GDK for some reason. I keep getting the message:

linker error: cannot open file atls.lib.

I recently installed the November 2008 update. Was that a bad idea?
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jan 2009 03:50
Which compiler version are you using? Doing a Google on "atls.lib" indicates that it doesn't ship with all versions of VS. But the jibber-jabber is a bit confusing so I don't know what works with what where or what function that library supports.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
xix psycho xix
Years of Service
User Offline
Im not quite sure of the compiler version, whatever came with visual studio 2008... i never had a problem with this until i installed the update. since then i cant compile even the simplest program, even though my other pc compiles fine w/out the update and is configured the exact same way.
xix psycho xix
Years of Service
User Offline
I googled it, and from what i see that library is only used if you want to use ATL in your programs, which i dont. for some reason only the code using the gdk is affected by this; other programs are compiling without complaint
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Jan 2009 05:47 Edited at: 28th Jan 2009 05:48
The wizard shouldn't be setting up as part of the project. The only time I've seen the query about ATL is when I'm starting a project from scratch. And I never select the option.

Have you looked at the project dependencies to see if the library is listed? If so, can it be deleted without incident?

Lilith, Night Butterfly