Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / FPSC - My Comments

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi,

I'm new to the board but have been watching the threads for a couple of years and finally feel a need to comment.

I'm not a great programmer but have been involved with computers since 1982! I bought a ZX Spectrum (Timex), and was amazed at how much those working with a very limited machine managed to stretch it's limits.

I feel that FPSC is very similar in that it's a limited engine with a massive amount of scope which can also be stretched by those who make the effort. However it seems to me that too many threads moan about the engines failures without looking into what it is actually capable off.

I understand that there have been several very decent Mods which have, in my opinion progressed the main engine, but however there has also been some amazing work, using shaders, clever coding and even clever graphical work which have simply used the engine as is, to create some incredible results.

Now I'm not complaining about modifications but feel that the engine so far is great value for money and can only get better.

For me, Lee and the team have made some massive improvements and it seems to me that too many people are expecting to make SIMS 2 or Medal of Honor on a $50 engine without making a personal effort.

Great, but my name's not Shirley
Mr Bigglesworth
Years of Service
User Offline
I totally agree, and welcome to the forums (as a user that is).

I used to be GERM, but I got a NaMe ChaNgE.
In cyberspace, no one can hear you scream!
Or can they?
Bendak11
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Feb 2009 23:21