Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Transparency Z-order Problem with grass

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello, I'm new to Dark SDK but I used DarkBasicPro quite a lot a few years back. Anyway, I downloaded the DarkGDK to try it out and I encounter what I believe to be a bug with transparency. I'm trying to create grass and I'm using the dbSetObjectTransparency command to allow the grass to be transparent. However from what I can see the DarkGDK draws objects based on the order they are created rather than the distance they are from the camera. This causes the grass to not be drawn correctly when a piece of grass that was created first is drawn in front of a piece that was created later. I found this bug in DarkBasicPro a long time ago and I find it kind of sad that it was never fixed and not only that but that it also managed to find its way into the DarkGDK. One work around that I knew of when I used DBP was to set the texture flag to 1 but this removes the mipmaps which makes my grass look like it was drawn with the MSPaint spray can tool. Anyway, I've seen screen shots on this forum of people who have created properly transparent grass without this problem so I'm wondering if someone could tell me how they did it.

P.S I'm using a PNG file so it should have its own alpha channel. so it's not a problem with that. also I tried creating my land object after the grass and that makes the problem occur with that also. I'll put some screen shots you so you can see

this looks correct
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30486957&l=eb8a1&id=149001024
grass Z-order problem
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=30486958&l=41f30&id=149001024
also happens on the ground when it is created after the grass