Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Smart Packer 1.5 Released!

Author
Message
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 5th Mar 2009 23:15 Edited at: 25th May 2009 13:43
[NEW] Smart Packer only requires an license key; online activation is removed!

Now it's time to buy Smart Packer! Just for EUR 29 ex VAT.

It took some time but finally the new version is released.

What is done?
[NEW] DLL plugin system; extends functionality
[NEW] Online serial activation (via plugin)
[NEW] Autosave mode, choose to save changes or start fresh
[NEW] Build process complety virtual; no temporary files needed
[IMPROVED] Building time is much faster
[FIXED] Files in Secure Zone are after usage stored in encrypted archive
[FIXED] No temporary files used in Secure Zone enabled application

More information is available on our site.

Note: The previous example was without Secure Zone protection so also Windows 98 users could test it. Because of the confusion I have replaced it with a Secure Zone protected application.

http://www.smartpacker.nl

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
Diggsey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 5th Mar 2009 23:55 Edited at: 6th Mar 2009 00:01
Meh, took me less than 5 minutes to get the files from the example

(Files attached)

[b]Yuor signutare was aresed by a deslyxic mud...
BOX2D V2 HAS HELP FILES! AND A WIKI!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 00:16 Edited at: 6th Mar 2009 00:17
Quote: "Meh, took me less than 5 minutes to get the files from the example"


And it costs $54... If you want to sell this then you should up the security a bit, especially if it takes only 5 minutes to hack when it shouldn't really be hackable at all... . It probably has the potential to be a really useful product though

Diggsey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 00:21
The main problem is that the product is a physical impossibility until more functionality is added to DBPro (The files MUST be unencrypted in a readable folder for DBPro to be able to load them).

Currently, this does little more that the built in mode in DBPro to include the media encrypted in the exe. Both of them just extract it to a temporary folder.

[b]Yuor signutare was aresed by a deslyxic mud...
BOX2D V2 HAS HELP FILES! AND A WIKI!
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 08:50 Edited at: 6th Mar 2009 09:09
Hi there,

The example is not with Secure Zone protected so also Windows 98 users could test it.

I have changed it into a Secure Zone protected application so please try again.

With the current discount Smart Packers only costs EUR 29,-

Greetings,

Michael
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 19:12 Edited at: 6th Mar 2009 19:12
i ran the current mygame.exe available on your site (as admin and otherwise):



Virtual Nomad @ California, USA
AMD Phenom™ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Diggsey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 20:04
This version was much harder to break than the last one, although even this: http://www.eltima.com/products/hide-folder-activex/ is not unbreakable

It is much improved though, and I doubt there are many people who could actually get past it. However, it may cause some annoyance to people to know that their file system driver is being replaced...

[b]Yuor signutare was aresed by a deslyxic mud...
BOX2D V2 HAS HELP FILES! AND A WIKI!
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 20:26
Virtual Nomad: what Vista version do you have and which servicepacks are installed?

We will investigate the problem.

Diggsey: did you test it under Vista?

You are right. Nothing is unbreakable but like you said it will do the job.
Diggsey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 21:30
@mrniceguy
No, I'm using XP.

I have a suggestion for this product:
IanM's plugins have a command called 'MAKE OBJECT FROM POINTER' which allows you to load a complete .dbo object from memory instead of a file. Also, there are built in commands like 'MAKE BITMAP FROM MEMBLOCK' and 'MAKE IMAGE FROM MEMBLOCK' and even 'MAKE SOUND FROM MEMBLOCK'. Maybe you could add some functions which could allow people to load in particular media types without ever having to extract the files. You would just have to decrypt them in memory and then pass them to the above functions.

That method is virtually unbreakable, since the user never has access to any unencrypted data.

Overall, with the new protection, I think this product is definitely worth it now, so good luck with the sales

[b]Yuor signutare was aresed by a deslyxic mud...
BOX2D V2 HAS HELP FILES! AND A WIKI!
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 22:24 Edited at: 6th Mar 2009 22:28
@mrniceguy
Vista Home Premium 64 Bit sp1.
what versions have you tested this on?

@diggsey
Quote: "their file system driver is being replaced"

is that for this application or the eltima app?

@anyone
and, in this app is there anything going on "behind the scenes" that users should know about? ie, things that might cause windows and/or other apps to stop working?

Virtual Nomad @ California, USA
AMD Phenom™ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit
Diggsey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 22:57
This application uses the software in the link I posted to keep the application folder safe, so it is in both of them. It is probably more like an addition to the file system driver than completely replacing it though.

[b]Yuor signutare was aresed by a deslyxic mud...
BOX2D V2 HAS HELP FILES! AND A WIKI!
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 23:02
thanks diggsey.

Virtual Nomad @ California, USA
AMD Phenom™ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 23:06 Edited at: 6th Mar 2009 23:10
@Diggsey
Thanks for the suggestions. We will certainly check the possibility.

@Virtual Nomad
Only 32 bits applications are supported. We will add some additional checks to prevent this message.

Concerning the file system driver remark, it extends the functionality of the standard file system driver and is only for the Smart Packer application.

There is nothing running behind the scene which could cause problems.

If you have specific concerns about how Smart Packered applications work just let me know.
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 6th Mar 2009 23:51 Edited at: 6th Mar 2009 23:52
@Virtual Nomad
Could you do me a favour and run the program chk32bits which you can download from http://www.smartpacker.nl/downloads/chk32bits.exe?

Please let me know which message is displayed.
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 7th Mar 2009 00:00 Edited at: 7th Mar 2009 00:01
says "sorry, 64-bits isn't supported".

and, does:
Quote: "extends the functionality of the standard file system driver "

mean it actually changes some of my system data or more along the lines of "runs alongside it", as in separately without altering OS stuff.

sorry i'm a bit paranoid with this but i'm trying to keep this new system free(-ish) of glitches for as long as i can while testing options, like this app, that i'm interested in. and, i'm new to vista so that's not helping matters.

Virtual Nomad @ California, USA
AMD Phenom™ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th Mar 2009 00:12 Edited at: 7th Mar 2009 11:52
Thanks for testing.

So for I know it's a ActiveX which uses Windows policies to hide files. Also it is only used for the Smart Packered application.

Update: we have updated the information how Smart Packer works on our site.
Benjamin
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 7th Mar 2009 10:48
Quote: "The main problem is that the product is a physical impossibility until more functionality is added to DBPro (The files MUST be unencrypted in a readable folder for DBPro to be able to load them)."

Actually you could patch the IAT and add your own custom file handling routines, forwarding calls for files that aren't encrypted, of course.

Michael P
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Mar 2006
Location: London (UK)
Posted: 7th Mar 2009 11:58
Quote: "Strong encryption algorithms protects your files in the Smart Packer executable."
(from website)

Out of interest, what encryption algorithms do you use?
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th Mar 2009 12:11
The used encryption algorithms are Blowfish and Rijndael.
Hayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2005
Location: Norway
Posted: 10th Mar 2009 12:51
use md5












Keep it simple.
Questions? Mail me
Diggsey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 10th Mar 2009 18:50 Edited at: 10th Mar 2009 18:51
md5 isn't an encryption...

Talk about people not having a clue what they're on about...

[b]Yuor signutare was aresed by a deslyxic mud...
BOX2D V2 HAS HELP FILES! AND A WIKI!
Master Xilo
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 10th Mar 2009 22:53
Quote: "virtually unbreakable, since the user never has access to any unencrypted data"


Everything that is ever seen on screen or heard trought the speakers is unencrypted and rip-able:
http://www.deep-shadows.com/hax/3DRipperDX.htm
there's no complete protection so give up trying to make one.
Just use law. (a little "You're not allowed to" will let people know, they'll still rip stuff, but not many would dare to sell it).

All the "big products" like photoshop and 3ds max have a quite simple, just reg-key protected installer, but they're sure that anyone who's going to use it seriously is going to buy it.

mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 10th Mar 2009 23:44
This is a bit off-topic. If there any questions and/or remarks about Smart Packer just let me know.

@Master Xilo: you are right, there isn't a complete protection but you can try to make it harder to crack .
feiting shadow
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Mar 2009 02:12
Ok so I thought this was just a content protection thing at first, but reading the features I don't know. My question would be, if I wanted to protect my program, is this like a simple solution I can use to "wrap" my stuff into trial versions then after receiving payment, give out keys?

If not, will you be adding to it in the near future? I have some polish to add to my program yet, but once I figure out what and how much to add, I should be done within a month.

Also, I'm gonna try the sample application now as I feel that might answer some of my questions.

fs

Signed
------
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 13th Mar 2009 11:02
@FS

With the Autosave option disabled you can create trial/demo versions.

The plugin system allows you to extend Smart Packered applications yourself. Included is a simple online authentication plugin with source and php scripts.

I will provide some other plugins with source in near future.
feiting shadow
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 15th Mar 2009 10:26
ah, I got impatient and found a decent solution under 100 bucks, so I bought it... but your solution would've been more suited for my needs, as what I bought doesn't encrypt media lest it's within the executable (and I have yet to flip that switch and actually have it work on my machine).

But your media and plugin system would make it much easier to use Fulfillment by Amazon for my program. I might still buy it anyway, lol.

My program isn't that great, but I'm marketing it since I'm trying to break into educational stuff. And speaking of such, if someone like me uses fulfillment by Amazon, the hardest thing to do is distribute a CD that'll be protected after 1 or a limited number of installs without the person having to contact me. In other words, if your solution uses an online activation, much like silicon realms (what used to be armadillo), that would be ideal for distribution, since I wouldn't have to contact the customers even after they buy the software.

I'd write my own crypt key, password, and even a file-locking system to check first-run and such, but all that can easily be undone by wiping and clean install.

Just letting you know what my needs are 'cause it might help development. I don't have an online database to store keys, and never got good with web stuff, otherwise I'd do it.

Signed
------
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 15th Mar 2009 20:32
The online activation plugin uses currently a MySQL database but because the source is included it could easily be changed.
FIGHTEX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2008
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2009 17:11
in the demo game, all i see is a white screen:S
like the media whas loadit then the resolution changed in gdk.

Game.Love
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2009 17:17 Edited at: 5th May 2009 17:44
Fightex: can you please try it on another pc?
It is a Direct7 application so it should work on most pc's.

Edited:
Have you downloaded it to a folder and could you click on install?

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
FIGHTEX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2008
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2009 17:19
mhm........i have xp.
graphics card: gefore 9800gt

Game.Love
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2009 17:34
Strange. Please change your resolution to 1024x768 and try it again.

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
FIGHTEX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2008
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2009 17:37
heh, i had 1024x768 but i got it working the white screen shows up then i haad to click an then the game, and when i exit the white screen is up again then it exits, maybe the pictures are mising or something.

Game.Love
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2009 17:46
Try pressing the spacebar.

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
FIGHTEX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2008
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2009 17:48
dosent change it, it seems i cant view sprites(or images, i think u use sprites)

Game.Love
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2009 18:20
Can't figure it out. Can you try it on another pc?

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
FIGHTEX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2008
Location:
Posted: 5th May 2009 18:21
nop.

Game.Love
AlexI
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 7th May 2009 01:54
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2009 10:32 Edited at: 7th May 2009 11:12
Molebox is an excellent program but doesn't have the features like customizing menu, image and music. Included with Smart Packer 1.5 is a plugin system which you can change according to your needs; also a simple online activation plugin with php-scripts is in this package.

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
FIGHTEX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2009 15:01
I am cunfused, can molebox or Smart Packer pack stuf in filles as .dat
if yes i wana now how.

Game.Love
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2009 19:57
If you mean pack files into one executable, yes Smart Packer can do that. Also our new product V-Packer which is in development does it even better. All the files are stored in a virtual filesystem. See WIP announcements.

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
FIGHTEX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2009 21:18
but, you cant packthem into .dat files like for instance if u search the forum the unamed game has, i cant remember who post it on(the game)
but it has the sain picture i think.

do you now how could i packthem in .dat files or something like that.

Game.Love
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2009 21:26
Sorry I don't understand. What are .dat files?

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
FIGHTEX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2009 21:33
data files, like winrar but something you couldnt extract.
basicly the application would encrypt and extract the files in to some virtual space like you said V-packer does. just that it wouldnt be in one single exe.

Game.Love
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2009 22:00
Take a look at http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=149813&b=8.

You can download a demo.

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
FIGHTEX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2009 22:29
nice demo, wish i new how to make that good collision

Game.Love
mrniceguy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 25th May 2009 11:21
[NEW] Smart Packer only requires an license key; online activation is removed!

Now available for EUR 29,-!

V-Packer - Your application into one executable. Runs instantly and everywhere.
Smart Packer - Distribute games and applications
David R
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2003
Location: 3.14
Posted: 27th May 2009 02:24
Quote: "md5 isn't an encryption...

Talk about people not having a clue what they're on about..."


If you can't see the connection between md5 and encryption, the only person who has no clue here is you

It may well be a hashing algo. on its own, but it could easily be combined with the data to create a key based encryption.

09-f9-11-02-9d-74-e3-5b-d8-41-56-c5-63-56-88-c0
Diggsey
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 27th May 2009 13:50
Of course there is a connection, but that doesn't mean you can use md5 as the encryption algorithm. You can use it as you said, but you still need an encryption algorithm

In the context of the conversation, saying 'use md5' was definitely referring to the actual encryption algorithm, rather than a hash to use on the key or anything else

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-09-26 10:50:58
Your offset time is: 2023-09-26 10:50:58