Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

The 20 Line Challenge / Random 3D Maze

Author
Message
spooky
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 4th Nov 2002 01:04
This is a completely random 3d maze you have to escape!
Also has an overhead map view and a sky-sphere.
All in 20 lines!



Source code and images in zip file (only 51Kb) below:
http://www.dbhut.com/maze.zip
I love it when a plan comes together
spooky
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Nov 2002 00:49
Updated with new features!

Could someone PLEASE download and test as it's my first ever DBPro program!



Source code and images in zip file (only 56kb) below:

http://www.dbhut.com/maze.zip

Example image:



I love it when a plan comes together
The Darthster
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Nov 2002 01:16
Gives me an invalid page fault. Also it complains that -t is not a valid variable. But then I haven't installed any patches yet.
spooky
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Nov 2002 14:16
That -t thing was a fix in patch 2 so you can reverse sign of a variable. You can probably replace it with t*-1 to get same result. Or you could install patch 2 like everyone else! Thanks anyway for trying. Not sure about invalid page fault though.

I love it when a plan comes together
The Darthster
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 8th Nov 2002 00:43
I already changed -t to -1*t so it would run, but get this error:

This program has performed an illegal operation and must be shut down etc. etc. big red scary circle with white X, you know the type.

MAZE caused an invalid page fault in
module <unknown> at 0000:00673fde.
Registers:
EAX=00000000 CS=0167 EIP=00673fde EFLGS=00010293
EBX=ffffffd2 SS=016f ESP=0064f710 EBP=0064f73c
ECX=00fe2e14 DS=016f ESI=00000000 FS=6427
EDX=00000212 ES=016f EDI=00000000 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
8b 88 00 00 00 00 8b c1 8b d8 5a b8 00 00 00 00
Stack dump:
00000000 00000000 00000000 0064f73c 0064f734 00540000 0040f798 0040f798 00672f90 00403947 0040f798 0064f760 00403bba e0904801 004021d2 00000008

I might install patch 2 when I can be bothered to read something good about it, all I've heard so far is moaning about how it doesn't solve anyone's problems (mass generalisation there).

I was considering writing a maze generation program, but it seems you've beaten me to it. Oh well. I'll write my own instead of stealing your code.
davidf215
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2002
Location: Texas
Posted: 15th Nov 2002 17:04
Ran okay for me on the DBPro demo compiler. Was a slow 21 FPS, but the computer at work has a small video card.

spooky
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 15th Nov 2002 18:47
Break out the champagne - someone has actually tried my program AND got it to work AND bothered to reply.

I get nearly 150fps on my Geforce 4 Ti4600!

Blue Peter badge to The Darthster and davidf215

I love it when a plan comes together
Delta
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 15th Nov 2002 21:06
Any chance of compileing it for those of us that are deprived of Pro I woul be interested to see how it works in 20 lines,

good work sonic!

spooky
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Nov 2002 00:48
Compiled version now at link below:

http://www.dbhut.com/maze_compiled.zip

It's a 1.51 MB zip file.

Enjoy!

I love it when a plan comes together
Delta
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 17th Nov 2002 01:39
Thanks

Nice work.. though moving is kinda slow.. was it set like that or just me?

Bighead
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 17th Nov 2002 09:26
Also runs ok for me in 21 fps ...
spooky
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 17th Nov 2002 20:10
Delta, my system is pretty fast and as I only had 20 lines to play with and no other pc to test on, could not optimise it for slower systems (sorry). I was more interested in how much stuff I could cram in!

I love it when a plan comes together
Delta
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 18th Nov 2002 23:19
I didn't even notice till now that the map is done by a second camera! thats even cooler! I hear someon else say that 2 cam's make there system slug, so I guess its the same here, my system is a 1.6Ghz Pentium 4 with a GeFocre 2 MX400 :S

Troan
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2003
Location: Inner thought about nothing
Posted: 6th Feb 2003 19:42
spooky
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 6th Feb 2003 19:52
That's why there is a complied exe to download

I love it when a plan comes together

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-12-04 13:49:30
Your offset time is: 2023-12-04 13:49:30