Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / 3d text maker

Author
Message
chunks chunks
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 24th Mar 2009 11:44
hi i made a 3d text maker where you can choose any font and save as a dbo , thanks to cloggy for his d3d dll.




thanks chunks

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
knxrb
FPSC Tool Maker
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Mar 2009 12:53
Looks nice, maybe add drop down boxes for font-size & font name?

knxrb

feiting shadow
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 10:19
ummm, that's amazing... my god, you (might) have no idea how amazing that is... it opens up whole new possibilities with GUI systems.

Signed
------
chunks chunks
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 17:17
Thank cloggy was his dll which actually converts fonts to 3d i just made it easier to make 3d text with an interface , anyways glad you like it .

thanks chunks.

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 17:53 Edited at: 25th Mar 2009 18:48
chunks,

this is gonna save me a lotta time on a project i'm working on (kids alphabet/numbers/typing app). very handy, as mentioned.

a few comments:

can't get a texture to stick to it. (can color object tho)
scaling object appears to scuttle uv data as well.
have to manually center the model x. (a simple offset limb ObNum,0,(object size x (ObNum)/-2.0),0.0,0.0,1 fixes that quickly)
polycount can be pretty high (have to watch how "fancy" of a font we use)
also worth mentioning, setting font size to a negative causes crash.

none the less:



thanks for sharing!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
chunks chunks
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 23:30
I can add an option in to reduce the polys , will center it and fix the negative values crash , not sure what the uv problem is .

Was thinking of adding light mapping too , what do you think?.

Thanks chunks.

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 25th Mar 2009 23:46
Quote: "Thank cloggy was his dll which actually converts fonts to 3d i just made it easier to make 3d text with an interface , anyways glad you like it .

thanks chunks."


And then also thank Microsoft for directx which has the function:
D3DXCreateText

chunks chunks
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 26th Mar 2009 05:09 Edited at: 27th Mar 2009 23:33
heres an update , i have fixed some of the issues mentioned .

thanks chunks


edit: I have fixed everthing now and added another option to render the 3d window to an image file

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Coder#05
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2005
Location: Denmark
Posted: 2nd Apr 2009 21:14
Nice will probably come in handy sometime. Thanks

Bursar
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 2nd Apr 2009 21:18
Any idea why I'm struggling to texture the .x file that's produced? It looks like when I try, the colour of the model ends up being an average of the colours in the texture file.

I've tried scaling the texture, but no luck
chunks chunks
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jan 2007
Location: ackworth uk
Posted: 3rd Apr 2009 01:46 Edited at: 3rd Apr 2009 02:23
I can`t get it to texture myself just yet , i`m working on it.
It`s something to do with the model created from cloggys plugin has no texture coords ,if anyone who knows about this stuff and how to apply a texture please let us know.

i`ve attached an x file for people to have look.

thanks chunks.

nvidia geforce 8600gt + amd athlon 64
windows xp pro.

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-02-09 00:15:45
Your offset time is: 2023-02-09 00:15:45