Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / I'm new to this. lol please help

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I've been messing around with GDK for the last couple days. I decided that I wanted to try and make a 3D game for fun. So I looked at the tutorials given.

The problem is I can't seem to do anything useful because I don't know the commands. The tutorials do not have what I need to create a 3D game. I've googled 5 to 10 different searches both involving visual c++ and dark GDK and have not found much help. Am I missing something?

So far I've managed to load images, sounds, and use the left and right arrow keys to active them. (wahoo lol) yes only the left and right arrows(& control and space) b/c that's what the dark invaders example used. Is there a list of which keys are which values for the dbKeyStates?

My experience with programming is minimal, I took a c++ course, but I have no experience with object oriented programming.

Any suggestions? If there is a good tutorial site, or even just a list of commands that would be helpful.

Thanks
Jordan
go2none
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Apr 2009 16:26
For gdk commands try:

Start > All programs > The Game Creators > DarkGDK > Documentation > Information

Key table:

http://www.comptechdoc.org/os/linux/howlinuxworks/linux_hlkeycodes.html

or just google 'keycode table'

Hope it helps.
silenus
Years of Service
User Offline
have you done all tutorials from GDK?

Quote: "dbScanCode
This command will get the scancode of the key currently being pressed."

Use this to get the scancodes of every key you press and print it with dbPrint to the screen...
And search the documentary...
jgg8588
Years of Service
User Offline