Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / How to make something fire...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Apr 2009 23:38
Right, I have a spaceship and I would like to make it fire but what I don't understand is how to get it to shoot from the same place while the place it is shooting from constantly moves. Basically you control the spaceship, and you fire using the space bar. My question is how do you make the projectile fire from the same place - the spaceship even though it moves via the users inputted directions using the arrow keys?

Theres just the game part of the code - as you can see I am fairly new to programming. If someone can help it would be muchly appreciated.

Thanks, Bankzy =]
JLMoondog
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Apr 2009 09:57 Edited at: 27th Apr 2009 10:00
When you create the bullet put this in:

Edit: Blah, not paying attention. You can replace the Object Position with Sprite Position. And I believe there is a Sprite angle as well. You just need to place your bullet at the ship location and angle, then update it.

Van B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Apr 2009 16:53
It can be tricky to offset bullet and effect locations when rotating sprites, at least when your not looking for a direct mid point that is.

The newx and newyvalue commands can help a great deal - I would do 2 passes to get the location after an X and Y offets.