Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Object Render Distance GDK

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th May 2009 13:21
i want objects to only render when they are within a certain distance from the camera. How do I does this in DarkGDK? I am using DirectX 9 if thats any help

I'm new to all this

JRC
ABXG
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th May 2009 03:07
This will only hide the object specified, you will either have to use a for loop to cycle through all your object numbers or manually create hide the object.

Here is the function:

Note: This will hide objects that are further away than the specified distance.

To use this, add this function call before calling dbSync():

Note: You do not have to use a loop to hide your objects, it would technically be more efficient to just call the function I provided for every object you wish to be hidden when it is to far from the camera.

------------------------------------
Currently 1300+ lines of code into an "over-the-shoulder" action RPG with combat based on rag-doll physics.
go2none
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th May 2009 11:19
Would dbSetCameraRange be effective too, in this case?
AndrewT
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th May 2009 17:06
dbSetCameraRange() is better if he wants to hide everything when it's a certain range away, if he wants to hide specific objects ABXG's method is better.

i like orange
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 9th May 2009 20:35