Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / New to Dark GDK and C++

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th May 2009 02:32 Edited at: 20th May 2009 02:47
Hello,
I have been using DBC for about 7 years now and I feel I'm ready to move up a gear. So I thought why not move up two and go straight to Dark GDK!

I really have no concept of visual studio, what an SDK is, and have only had a brief rental of a library book on C#.
I've watched the GDK installation vid and read about it but I'm still a bit wary to jump into something I know nothing about.

So firstly, how do I get set up with GDK once I have downloaded Visual Studio 2008, Direct X SDK and Dark GDK? And where can I download them from.

Secondly, could anyone recommend some tutorials or a book for GDK to get me on track and up do date in this crazy face-paced world?
Would it be worth buying a C++ book?

Thanks for your time,

Obese

[edit]
oooh, I see there are some tutorials from the Dark Lord himself. I'll be sure to check them out.

I have to add: I can't believe this is free! What a great way to nurture indie coders. If I ever make anything worth selling I'll be glad to pay the licence fee. Thanks TGC.

There is an eight letter word. You can insert a letter into it or remove a letter from it without changing its meaning. Answer
Simfan147
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th May 2009 04:28
I do it in steps then.

Visual Studio is a just an IDE ( A great one at that) It's free just like DarkGDK.

A SDK is a software development kit. It just helps with developing. Imagine trying to code your own Game Engine.

You can download all the software needed at (http://gdk.thegamecreators.com/?f=downloads)