Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / whats wrong?

Author
Message
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2009 13:37
whats wrong with this code?:



www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 28th May 2009 13:48 Edited at: 28th May 2009 13:49
Everything

C++ is case sensitive, so where you have written 'dbturnobjectright' for example, it should be 'dbTurnObjectRight'. Just change all of your commands to use the correct case.

Also, there is no command 'dbkeyright', it is 'dbRightKey', and there is no command 'dbdomatrix'.

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2009 13:52
ooooooooooooohhhh what would i do for the matrix?

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 28th May 2009 13:53
Well, there is dbMakeMatrix

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2009 13:56
is this ok?:



www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
AlexI
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 28th May 2009 14:38
Quote: "is this ok?:"


Maybe should find out yourself by hitting the compile button

jezza
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2008
Location: Bham, UK
Posted: 28th May 2009 15:26
BTW, this code:

can replace:

Which I find neater.

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2009 15:42
Quote: "
Maybe should find out yourself by hitting the compile button
"

it dosn't work.

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
jezza
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2008
Location: Bham, UK
Posted: 28th May 2009 16:09
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2009 19:19
i get this:

Quote: "
------ Build started: Project: Dark GDK - Game1, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
Compiling...
Main.cpp
c:\program files\the game creators\dark gdk\include\darksdkcamera.h(16) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'd3dx9.h': No such file or directory
Build log was saved at "file://c:\Documents and Settings\mike\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\Dark GDK - Game1\Dark GDK - Game1\Debug\BuildLog.htm"
Dark GDK - Game1 - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

"


www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2009 19:21
if it should work but i have that file missing could someone email it to me please? (my email is in my profile)

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Lilith
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posted: 28th May 2009 20:46
Did you install Direct X and do it in the right order? Just having the header file isn't going to solve your problem.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2009 20:57
there is an order you need to do it in? i installed c++ then dark gdk then direct x

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Lilith
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posted: 28th May 2009 21:00 Edited at: 28th May 2009 21:01
That should have done it. Find where the file resides then add it as an additional include directory. You may find that you also have to find the lib file and included its directory as an additional lib directory.

Oh, and did you run the VS compiler once before installing the other components?

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2009 21:19
ok, that confused me sooo much

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2009 22:43
could you explain it a little...... clearer please?

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Lilith
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posted: 28th May 2009 22:49
Actually that made think a bit on the install order and if I remember right you're supposed to install Direct X after the compiler has been run once but before installing Dark GDK. This is because of the dependencies. Dark GDK depends on Direct X and needs to know where it is during its own install so it can create the wizards with that information embedded in the solution.

There are several dependencies when you compile code. Aside from the header files you may also need to borrow code from libraries. Your compiler needs to be told where to find these header files and libraries. Some header files and libraries are common enough that they're automatically included in the list of folders to search through. If you're using third party libraries they're usually stored apart from the compiler's folder structure. So your solution needs to be told what additional folders to look in (and also what libraries need to be linked) to find the header files and the library files associated with the third party API. When the compile is going it now knows where to look to find the additional libraries.

I'm not exactly sure why the compiler has to be run once before proceeding but it's probably because Direct X, which should be done after running the compiler, depends on some information that's registered when the compiler is run for the first time.

When Dark GDK is installed it creates wizards that need to know where to find the Direct X folders so it can include them in the additional dependencies for the solution it generates. If Direct X (at least the appropriate version of it) isn't installed it apparently leaves them out of the configuration and your compile fails because it doesn't know to look in the appropriate folder for your header and/or library files.

Maybe not clearer but maybe just a bit over-detailed.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 28th May 2009 23:37
You need to install the DirectX SDK, not just DirectX

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 29th May 2009 11:51
i have directx sdk installed

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 29th May 2009 12:11
ok where do the .lib files go?

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 29th May 2009 13:25
Go to Tools->Options and open the Projects and Solutions tree on the left. Select the VC++ Directories item. Here you can set certain directories that the compiler will search when looking for header files, libraries, and so forth. You need to add an entry for the DX SDK include directory, which should look something like this although it'll depend on the version you have:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (August 2007)\Include"

To add this make sure you have Include files selected, and click the folder icon. Either copy and paste the path in here once you have it, or browse for it.

Next you'll need to add the library directory, so have Library files selected, and add the path to the DX SDK lib/x86 directory. Mine looks like this:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (August 2007)\Lib\x86"

Please do not simply copy the paths I have given you as they will likely not be correct.

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 29th May 2009 14:07
ok, i done that and now i get 264 errors


the code im using is:


www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Lilith
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posted: 29th May 2009 16:58
Looks like you don't have the directory where your DX library files are located correctly defined in your solution.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 29th May 2009 20:27
what??? how do i fix it? please tell me.

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Lilith
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posted: 29th May 2009 20:36
Benjamin pretty much told you how.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 29th May 2009 20:41
i reinstalled it and that was automatically done. i still get the errors (all 264)

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2009 09:55
anyone got any ideas?

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Phosphoer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2007
Location: Seattle
Posted: 30th May 2009 10:36
You shouldn't even have to mess with include directories when you are using DarkGDK. I advise uninstalling all 3 items, and making sure you follow the instructions on TheGameCreator's website.

The first thing you install should be Visual C++ 2008 Express.
Then you should install the DirectX SDK.
Now you should open Visual C++, and quit after it finishes launching.
Now install DarkGDK, and everything should work.

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2009 12:16
Quote: "
The first thing you install should be Visual C++ 2008 Express.
Then you should install the DirectX SDK.
Now you should open Visual C++, and quit after it finishes launching.
Now install DarkGDK, and everything should work.
"


i did reinstall it but i did it in this order:

installed c++ and ran it
installed directx sdk
installed dsrk gdk

i will try again the way you said.

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Grandma
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Guiding the New World Order
Posted: 30th May 2009 12:34
I got the same DX error too when I installed GDK (exactly by the book route). GDK obviously couldn't keep up with me. I did what Benjamin said in his post and that fixed it.

This message was brought to you by Grandma industries.

Making yesterdays games, today!
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 30th May 2009 14:32
Perhaps you should show us the list of library directories you have set up in VC++.

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2009 16:17
ok, i have:

C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (August 2007)\Include
C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark GDK\Include

for include files and

C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark GDK\Lib\VS9
C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (August 2007)\Lib\x86

for library files

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
jezza
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2008
Location: Bham, UK
Posted: 30th May 2009 16:35
In your project, which library files are under "additional dependencies" in project properties?

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2009 17:16
(sorry im a real n00b to dark gdk) where is that to?

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
jezza
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2008
Location: Bham, UK
Posted: 30th May 2009 18:02
In visual studio open up your DarkGDK project. Open up Project->Properties or press alt-f7
Under configuration properties choose linker and then input. the top box on the right side of the dialog should now have several .lib files named. what are they?

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2009 20:45


???

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
jezza
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2008
Location: Bham, UK
Posted: 30th May 2009 20:51
yeah thatd be why
try using one of the wizards to make a program and run that.

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2009 21:15
(again, sorry im a n00b to darkGDK and c++) how do i do that?

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
jezza
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2008
Location: Bham, UK
Posted: 30th May 2009 21:38
cant tell you with out checking other computer exactly, but it should be one of the options when creating a new project. one of the other guys should be able to help.

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 31st May 2009 10:45
i don't have any options for wizzards when i start a new project (probably doing some magic LOL! JOKE!)

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 31st May 2009 13:21
Those settings are correct for when you use the wizard, and it looks as though you have used the wizard (No other option gives you just 'main.cpp' and 'readme.txt')

Go to the C/C++ section of that options dialog, and find where it says 'runtime library'. Change it to 'Multi-threaded (/MT)'.

mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 31st May 2009 19:01
i did that and nothing changed

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 31st May 2009 22:50
any ideas? =(

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 19:11
someone?

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Lilith
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 19:42
No wizards is generally a symptom of not having installed things in order. I'd think you'll need to unstall everything and start from scratch.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
mike5424
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 19:58
ok, i reinstalled gdk and DX sdk twise (before) so now i will reinstall all 3

www.madninjas.co.nr we are mad and we are ninjas
Lilith
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Feb 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 20:20
Don't just re-install them. Uninstall them before re-installing.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
Mireben
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2008
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2009 20:39
When you say "no options for wizards", do you mean that when you create a new project by choosing File, New, Project, then the three Dark GDK projects do not appear in the selection box under the "Wizards" category?

I had that problem and it turned out that the installer does not recognize paths if the Windows version is not English. On the last page of the "installation and wizards" thread, there are several posts about what to copy where and what to edit in the wizards files to get over that problem. Have a look at this thread:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=118371&b=22&p=2
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 2nd Jun 2009 21:08 Edited at: 2nd Jun 2009 21:09
Quote: "No wizards is generally a symptom of not having installed things in order"

Actually it's the result of someone failing at making a functioning installer. I don't know for sure although it seems to be that the "my documents" path was hard-coded, because apparently someone out there is ignorant of other languages.

Grandma
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Guiding the New World Order
Posted: 3rd Jun 2009 20:50
And drives, thinking everyone has their OS installed on the "first", usually C:\

My OS sits comfortably on G:\

This message was brought to you by Grandma industries.

Making yesterdays games, today!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-10-01 03:39:56
Your offset time is: 2024-10-01 03:39:56