Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Creating Terrain with GIMP and MilkShape 3D (Tutorial)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Im new to this engine and was looking for an easy way to create detailed terrain but with no luck so i figured out this method. Im sure there is a better way that i dont know about and maybe you could put it on this post or anything i may have missed. I hope this helps noobs like me.

1: Open Gimp and create a height map. A height map is simply an image that is black and white, white being high terrain black being low. The image must be 64 by 64. Save two copies of this image, one BMP and one TGA. Gimp has tools like filters/Render/Clouds/Solid Noise which generate a good starting image for terrain. The more blurred the image the smoother the landscape.

2: Open Milkshape and use Tools/Height Map Generator. Open your pre-made BMP map and hit ok. There is your new terrain mesh. You probably need to scale it to make it more realistic.

3: Your second image, the TGA will be used for the texture. The black and white image should help you to create the texture, Almost like looking at a negative of the landscape. You can use the Colors/Map/Gradient Map in Gimp to automate the process but i think a more detailed approach is better, like selecting an area and bucket filling with a grass or gravel pattern.

4: In Milkshape select the whole mesh and click on materials on the right tool panel. Click new and a blank ball will appear. Click the upper large button with <none> on it and select your texture for the map. Now click assign. Your texture is applied but needs to be adjusted.