Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Music & Sound FX / connecting my keyboard to Fruity Loops 8

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 23:24
Hi there. I've posted around a few forums about this but with no luck. Hopefully you guys can give me a point in the right direction.

I have just bought a midi cable to hook up my keyboard into FL8 so I can use it to compose instead of the mouse and computer keyboard.

The keyboard in question is over 10 years. It's a HOHNER PSK 45 if that means anything to anyone. I don't play keyboard but I am a Pianist (hence the very old keyboard).

Once it is connected to FL I can get it to play using the different voices. However, when I try to record problems occur:

1. The keyboard only records into the step sequencer and not piano roll where I want it (I know this can be done as I've seen a video of it).

2. Recording continues on until I press stop, however none of the sound is actually recorded after the first loop of the step sequencer.

3. I can't play chords. They all record as single notes. But hook the keyboard up to Notation Composer and it plays perfectly.

4. If I transfer the recordings into piano roll there are no rests in the recordings. If I play a very quick, staccato note and then have a 5 second pause before playing the next, the silence does not record. Instead it is as if I have just held the note down for 5 seconds followed by another etc. The notes all join onto one another continuously with no gaps.

5. Although there is no velocity control on the keyboard any recorded notes seem ALOT quieter than those I place down using the mouse and computer keyboard. Do I have to place the keyboard into a mixer channel and increase its master volume or something?