Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Level One The Free Game

Author
Message
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 20th Jun 2009 00:52 Edited at: 24th Jun 2009 00:08
* START OF NOTICE *
The script below is not finished . Although if there are questions or suggestions please post. =)
* END OF NOTICE *

** START OF NOTICE **
If you are interested or anything PLEASE post something!
** END OF NOTICE **

Hi this is a program I am creating usind Dark GDK and Visual C++. This is the thread that I am going to use for help or conversation about it. Here is my script so far without the files. I will load the files when they are ready =). Hope this helps some of you!
This is also the exact script so if their are typos i'll edit it. I will also edit it along the way.
Here is the number of current edits- 4.



"A job well done is a well done job."
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2009 03:14
Hi. Here is a bit of my code for detecting 2 keys being pressed at once, but it won't work. Please post something that will solve it.


Should I put dbKeyState ( 109, 27 ); ?

"A job well done is a well done job."
AlexI
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 22nd Jun 2009 03:16


Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 22nd Jun 2009 18:40


ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2009 20:46
Ok thanks guys! I probablt should of known that but oh well!

"A job well done is a well done job."
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 25th Jun 2009 19:11
Ok new problem. I need to know the script to detect either the "w" Key or the UpKey.
heres what i have so far

but that only detects if both are being pressed =(.

"A job well done is a well done job."
prasoc
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th Jun 2009 19:12 Edited at: 25th Jun 2009 19:13



Your signature has been erased by a mod
Bran flakes91093
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2008
Location: Crazy Land
Posted: 25th Jun 2009 19:35
Or



Shorter and does the same thing.

Your_Health = (My_Mood == HAPPY) ? 100 : NULL;
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 01:04
ok bran flakes and prosac. Thanks a lot! Excpesially for the quick responses!

"A job well done is a well done job."
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 01:10
Now the next problem is I need a script to turn the object left/right on the press of the arrow keys. Here is the script so far.

Is there a way that will make it work? Because it isn't right now.

"A job well done is a well done job."
heyufool1
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2009
Location: My quiet place
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 01:25
I think you are using too many variables in this game, try something like this:


ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 01:28
Ok thanks. The varibales were there just because it was the only way I knew how to do that. Thanks!!!

"A job well done is a well done job."
Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 01:52
Or more simply:


ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 02:00
=) Thanks

"A job well done is a well done job."
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 05:13
Ok now I have my terrain ( desert ), and the charector ready, so now I need to set the collision up so the charector doesn't go off the "desert".

"A job well done is a well done job."
heyufool1
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2009
Location: My quiet place
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 05:17
Search for Sparky's Collision. It's extremely easy to integrate into a game, and it's perfect collision.

ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 05:19
Ok thanks. Also I have the dbLeftKey set up to turn the object, but the object turns without the camera. Can you help me?

"A job well done is a well done job."
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 05:21
And 1 more problems. Does any1 know how to loop an object backwards? Because the tutorial didn't have an option to walk backwards.

"A job well done is a well done job."
heyufool1
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2009
Location: My quiet place
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 05:33
Question 1: Look at the dbSetCameraToFollow(...) in the documentation found in the Dark GDK directory in program files. (It's usually C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark GDK\Documentation)

Question 2: I'm not sure if this will work but try putting the start frame as the usual end frame and the end frame as the usual start frame. (never tried it)

ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 16:38
Q1: Ok. I'll try that Thanks!

Q2: Well that was the first thing I tried, but it just froze on the first frame.

To every1. I still need to know how to loop backwards.

"A job well done is a well done job."
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 16:55
Ok guys. I now have sparky's collision but I have know clue how to integrate it into my game. Could some1 edit my script below integrating sparkys collision? or at least tell me how to use it, like the codes I need, and how to use them? Thanks!!!



"A job well done is a well done job."
heyufool1
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2009
Location: My quiet place
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 17:54
I won't do it for you because you won't learn anything. But this is simply how all collision is done:
1. You save an object's X, Y, Z values (also known as "old" values)
2. You move that object
3. You save the object's X, Y, Z values into other variables (also known as new values)
4. You check for any intersection between the old and new values.

But I guess i'll just tell you what to do...
1. Copy the float oldx, junk from sparky's slider example and put that before any and all movement.
2. Copy everything after sparky's movement code and put that after your movement code.
3. Setup your model using SC_SetupObjectComplex ( objectnum, groupnum, 2 ); (or use a mask which is a good idea)
4. That should be it.

ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 23:24
Say that again in retard, I will then be able to understand. Lol jk. Could you repeat it again with more steps??

"A job well done is a well done job."
heyufool1
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2009
Location: My quiet place
Posted: 26th Jun 2009 23:35 Edited at: 26th Jun 2009 23:37
Lol I'll just do it for you, but you have to promise me to study it a bit and learn what exactly is going on. (it will help you in the long run).

Old Code:


New Code:

Be sure to put the SC_Collision.h file with your source code and also go into where you save Sparky's Collision the got to Lib > VS8 > then copy the object library and paste that into Crogram FilesMicrosoft Visual Studio 9.0VClib or where ever you installed Visual Studio.

ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 27th Jun 2009 03:09
Ok thanks mate !!! Normally I study the code after you guys fix it ( which you made me promise ), and yes I will study it! Thanks again this helps a lot! And nice picture. I barely noticed =)

"A job well done is a well done job."
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 27th Jun 2009 03:24 Edited at: 27th Jun 2009 04:08
When I used that edited script with Sparky's Collision i get some erreos posted here


"A job well done is a well done job."
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 27th Jun 2009 03:46
Any help on solving it would be great =)

"A job well done is a well done job."
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 27th Jun 2009 19:30
Ok every1! Well I finally learned to start with easier stuff!!! Please let this thread die. I would like to thank all you guys for the help and arguements to start with simple stuff! And Special thanks to Pricey who I found out about his game " Quest "! I will now program a simple RPG!

"A job well done is a well done job."
Marsh0
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 27th Jun 2009 21:09
Just to let you know for future endouvers there is a edit button under your profile.
ScapeSta
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 28th Jun 2009 01:16
I know about the edit button. now please let this thread die.

"A job well done is a well done job."

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-10-01 05:54:50
Your offset time is: 2024-10-01 05:54:50