Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / int to char* - error C2664

Author
Years of Service
User Offline

I am trying to use dbText to show on screen how many lives the player has left. When i try to show int lives using dbText (510,3,lives); it gives me:
1>c:\users\j\documents\visual studio 2008\projects\space noobs\space noobs\main.cpp(25) : error C2664: 'dbText' : cannot convert parameter 3 from 'int' to 'char *'
1> Conversion from integral type to pointer type requires reinterpret_cast, C-style cast or function-style cast

Im pretty new to DarkGDK and c++ so help will be appreciated

Thanks

"Lifes like a box of chocolates, you never know which one you get" Forest Gump
Unless you read the leaflet, thats why hes so "different"
AlexI
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Jun 2009 20:32

Phosphoer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Jun 2009 20:37 Edited at: 20th Jun 2009 20:38
Several things you can do:

DarkGDK Method:

Plain C++ ( Better )

It may also be possible ( haven't tested ) to do it in one line as such:

Finally one other method:
This one is a bit more useful as you can change the "%i" to a "%f" for displaying float values. Also a trick I learned, "%.0f" will display a float value with no decimals, "%0.1f" will display a float with 1 decimal value, and so on.

xiva
Years of Service
User Offline
I've just tried using dbText( 510, 3, dbStr( lives ) ); and it gets rid of the error but i still can not see the text. At the top i have declared int lives = 3;

Phosphoer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Jun 2009 20:50 Edited at: 21st Jun 2009 09:51
It's because you are writing the text outside of the game loop.