Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / quality face models

Author
Message
actarus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 5th Dec 2002 13:46
hahahahah...That's one good thing that I always hoped they did.

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
actarus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 5th Dec 2002 13:47
Oh and I think that also BMP's made in Photoshop have it too.lol

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
Kangaroo2
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 5th Dec 2002 16:33
cool

So if they DO find some1 out, any idea legally what they can do? Can the actually get anything more than the price of registration? Because if not, the law should be changed.

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
actarus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 5th Dec 2002 17:18
I think there's a fine...and they must've put it at an astronomical level...

Still,they'll have to decompile your work therefore taking an illegal way to find the answer BUT...If there ever is a doubt you did use it in a commercial way,or else,their lawyers could crush you eventhough they did just that.

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 5th Dec 2002 18:15
But u could alternativily buy the softwares b4 u release the game and make it legally... simple import and export to legal ware.
However, I don't think any company who release games to the market use warez...just peoples who are curious about those programs and probaly wont ever make something to sell... like me

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 08:18
current fines if you live within the UK are...
£3,000 you pay to the government
£50,000 you pay to discreet (if its 3DS Max)
and you stand to face a possible 2-5years in jail ontop of that

Oh plus you can be done for fraud too hahaa

The risks really outwieght the benifits kiddies (^_^)

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Kangaroo2
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 12:16
woow thats harsh! I am glad something is being done about it tho, maybe it'll discorage people from doing it - maybe

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
Karlos
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 18:04
Firstly I cannot condone piracy in any form.

Secondly here's a little story I heard 3rd hand orginally from a tutor.
NB I'm only repeating a story!

Discreet know that the average user will not be able to afford their products but need a large user base to increase the sales to companies.

The result:
3ds max has been designed to be relatively easy to crack alledgedly.

Certainly interesting...

Do not flame me - just the messenger

Karlos

If it ain't broke - try harder.
W2K Pro - Geforce2 MX400 64MB - Athlon 900
actarus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 18:19
Why would anyone flame you for that,personally,I believe it.

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 19:14
I read in a computer mag that most software house need people to crack their software.... Cos it helps then keep the price of software up.

People moan that the prise of software is too high, and that they shuold lower it.... but then they come back with "because of software piracy - we have to sell at that price to re-gain our losses"

When in fact they gain more by keeping the prices high... than they loose by piracy.

If piracy stopped tomorrow... and they brought their prices down, they would loose £milions.

The software industry works on the same principles as the insurance industry >> the more cars that get stolen and broken into, the higher your premiums get ( which is more than they have to pay out )

I for one would like people to crack my software, if I had something that cost £45 to buy and that earnt me £1,000,000 per year..... rather than something that cost £15 to buy ( but with NO piracy ) would only earn me say >> £200,000 per year.

Most BIG software companies >> LOVE IT !!! <<

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 19:59
And so do I

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 20:31
Hmm... well i don't remember any of these so called Crack's for programs being done for any games that i've worked on and i've seem almost all of them available for download with cracked serial codes.

Those people who are doin' this are personally reaching into my pocket and taken my hard enrt cash, along with the rest of the people I work with.

As CDilla is the authentication software for 3DSMax and is made seperate from the product and covers more than just Max those of which i've never seen before up on warez - i've gotta say that it seems like crap.

Yeah they might benifit, but at the end of the day they're killing on thier own customer base yearly to competitors because of price. So they're slowly killing themselves if they did ... so I find it quite hard to believe any team especially one as big as Discreet would personally do such a thing, also why release Gmax? if they know so many people pirate, why release a free version?

Sorry but the questions just don't add up

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 21:18
How bout this them:

I've bought two games a long ago for PC. Heavy Metal FAKK 2 and Blair Witch Volume 1: Runstin Parr. They both, unfortunatly, does not run under windowsXP. I mailed the support and they said the same as all stupid suports around: "Update ur graphic cards" and "Unforutnally we cannot give support to WinXP cause it uses a diferent structure to when the game was made".
Ok, I agree... BUT, the companies does not give a fuck to us... two days ago, I've found an illegal patch which fix Blair Witch to run under WinXP + No CD Check. I've also downloaded a cracked version of Heavy Metal which runs on windows XP. The truth is, to make a game be compatible with WindowsXP is so simple... those patches actually just change the way the game is initialized.
To finish my point of view... I was against piracy until 2 days ago... but if the companies does not support me... I won't support them either... It can be many peoples involved in a game and whatever u all wanna say... but for me to buy these games were not that simple either, I needed to work for it as they worked to make it. Downloading now ilegally James Bond Night on Fire...Piracy 4ever
that's all...

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 21:40
Yeah !! sometimes it's quicker to crack as well.

I bought MP3Burner v1.3, all lagit ... but when I re-formatted my PC, lost the reg code. I e-mail em to get my code sent again, but it was taking ages... so I download a keygen and "ALL SORTED"

As for No CD cracks ....... well, every game I have, has one of those ( who wants the CD in all the time ?? )

As soon as they gotcha money....then they're happy, until you have probs.

Take "Project IGI" for example ..... no save game. and as soon as people started asking for a patch... they said no >>> then brought out "project IGI 2" ... Pfffff !!!

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 21:55
well fine... you keep pirating and get caught, wont be so much fun then.

And if you do make it into the industry, then go into work knowin' you're not getting much more than min wage because some arse can't be bother'd to dig into his stingy lil pocket and actually pay for that almost year of your life working on a title that everyone raves about but no one freakin' buys!!

making games might not be about the money, but at the end of the day i'm not gonna do it for free ... whats the point in being a professional if you're paid like a bedroom developer?
Oki so my own paycheck isn't exactly what you'd call chickenfeed (hehee) but the point is my expenses are ALOT higher than most peoples, because if you work at sainsbury's they don't make you buy a full uniform then ontop of that get a cashdesk at home to practise and perhaps extra frills for it like an infrared scanner to practise on... no you turn up your paid bugger all you go home and grumble.

I on the other had have expensives which equal most peoples yearly income
because you can't stay at the office all night, so if you need to work late ... then you need the software, 3DS Max, Photoshop Pro arn't cheap. You then need a system to run it all on - something that isn't gonna take 5years to move a vertex a grid point.
On top of that a ZeroLimit net connection to be able to talk and access with everyone else.
Finally all the updates like ColdFusion, Flame and such which you need for certain effects.

At the end of it, you've just spent the better half of $5k
After that, you've then got home bills ... and really cost of living is outragous.

No I certainly DON'T have a money shortage as such, but I know several people that are new and are only earning mininum $15k pa and that just ain't right!

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 6th Dec 2002 22:06
To quote you from a post made just the other day >>

Quote: "
ya know when i went to college quake was only just out, i brought it in and installed it on a computer then everyone else installed it from that - hehee was alot of fun, we'd go in there at lunch with our pot noddles and such and frag each other.
"


You go on about how against piracy you are vegeta ... yet you have done it yourself... then condoned your freinds to do the same

As soon as you installed it on another PC, that was piracy.

In your own words above >> Bah !! hypocrite

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 01:35
At the end of the day it was my copy, a single copy and although yeah thats piracy - no one could take the college computers home and use it...

Apart from that this was quite a few years back, before i understood about piracy and how it affected people.
You can't really ask a 16 year old to completel understand how piracy works, but at the same time what i did was only technical piracy and not legal piracy - there is a big difference. If I'd copied my CD for everyone else, that is legal piracy ... giving them limited access without charge is only minor technical piracy.

And you could've quoted something i'd said to make me look bad so - i'll give you a C here mainly because you lacked effort in dirty digging, i suggest you go back and try again!

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 02:13
Vegeta >> you are one fully qualified idiot

There was no need for dirty digging, as your hypocritical comment was from a very recent post you made.

And I give you an " A+ " in bullshit, cos thats what ya full of.

Quote: "
At the end of the day it was my copy, a single copy and although yeah thats piracy - no one could take the college computers home and use it...

---------------------------------------------------------

but at the same time what i did was only technical piracy and not legal piracy - there is a big difference.
"


Now there's a contradiction ... LOL,LOL,LOL ... piracy is piracy

And you're telling me that you don't know right from wrong at the age of 16 ( well, that probably true )

* And you could've quoted something i'd said to make me look bad * >> again, no need... you do a perfectly good job of that yourself

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 03:00
Hehee... (^_^) well i'm not a fully qualified idiot yet, i'm pretty sure there's a final yet to take.
But i'm quietly confident i can pass it.

I'd check the Licence deal for Quake if i were you
It isn't a single machine licence ... and there were far better examples you could've used just no real effort on your part. Whats the matter loosin' you touch hehee

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 03:38
lol

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 03:40
Are you thick or what ??

Quote: "
I'd check the Licence deal for Quake if i were you
It isn't a single machine licence.
"

If you buy a game and install it on your PC .... then take it to college and install it on other PC's, then thats piracy you IDIOT.

As per usual, you don't know what you're talking about.

If I took my copy of DBpro and installed it on 20 of my freinds PC's ... is that not piracy ?? or do you think it's OK because it was my copy ??

So NO... I suggest YOU read the licence deal. ( but there again, reading it and understanding it are two different things


And BTW... why do you keep going on about being in "the industry" when we know that you are NOT (OMG, I can't beleive people here are still falling for that one )

You lead people on into thinking that you are, so that they will think you are important.

You tried that one on the RGT forum... didn't take people long to figure you out though

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 03:52
:: yawn ::

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 13:45
huhuh I love this forum's fights

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 7th Dec 2002 22:47
hehee... (^_^) and what simple doesn't relise is he's fighting with himself - i'm just here to give him the encouragement

quite amusing thou wouldn't you say

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 00:58
Certainly seems to upset you though, wouldn’t you say

Oh, forgot... you already have said ( in another thread !! )

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 01:10
:: yawn :: hehee

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 02:20
Ok guys, don't be mad about me, this is just a story... Once, I met a girl and we fight pretty much as u both do Today, we are married and have a kid U guys beware

I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
-- Rogue
Simple
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 02:34
Funny how you try and change the subject after first being proved wrong about your piracy.

And then getting exposed for the fraud that you are i.e. you DON'T work for Westwood Studios... Brett Sperry and Louis Castle Don't employ you at all nore would they.

And whats up ? lost for words ?? .. or is (:: yawn :: hehee) the best you can come up with ???

All I have left to say in this thread is >> get back to your little fantasy world and carry on trying to convince the teenagers on the forum that you are someone importants in the game development world.

Now you can yawn all ya like

Spec - AMD Athlon 1000mhz - 256mb DDR - Gforce2mx 400 TV out - 30gb HD - 19" Compaq - DVD rom - CDRW - Firewire - ATI TV card - All linked to another PC with higher spec
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 8th Dec 2002 04:52
:: YAWN ::

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Dark_ITheI _Angel
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 11th Dec 2002 19:37
Vegeta,
You are wrong.
They can know wich version you used and locate you.
Then ask you for license.

They cant know who is the real owner of the product.
As in the net , are many .BIN from 3dsmax (.BIN=direct from cd to format without installing)

Please, Remember that max use serial , wich can be cracked by serials-generator.
and the recuest-code is automatically made by your computer.

soo , the only thing they can know is , in wich version it was made and when was it made.
BUT not if the product was legal or ilegal

And justice for all.
Dark_ITheI _Angel
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 11th Dec 2002 19:49
(I think it is time to make an edit button , or does the web designer dont know how it works )

PS: The same with true-space and maya.
As you are a 3D GameStudio user too , you should know this better.

In 3D GameStudio is a Key-file , wich is needed for install the programm.
This file generate a code in your computer and all of this.
If you then , give it to another person , this another person make an .EXE , then Conitec just have to look in his exe , the IP and the IP of the .exe maker.
(and some more information are inside)

*Just Telling what i know*

---
All in All , it is always better to buy the things.
Soo no one can tell you something.

And justice for all.
alfarjamie
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 11th Dec 2002 20:56
heres the best game i ever made its my own version of jet ski im still trying to change a few things like rider and og backround ect.



but it works best on normal DB!!!1

hey come on to my cool site
www.alfarjamie.shorturl.com
Kangaroo2
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 00:39
Sorry, I don't want to argue, and I don't reeeeally care, but in this instance Vegetta is right. The original Quake didn't come with the usual singlePC/singleuser liscence, presumably because Id knew people would setup LAN networks with the game, and they wanted to encorage that. It would have been illegal tho to distribute copies on CDs, especially to charge for them.

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
Van B
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 13:24
That's a good point, unfortunately, .X files don't - so your safe as long as you convert to .x before releasing.

With the .3DS format problems in DBPro, most people will be doing that already.


Van-B
Van B
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 13:34
LMAO!!!

Could one of the mods delete my last post, it's actually to do with Vegeta's last post on page 1.

Hehe, backing away sheepishly...
actarus
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: 32 Light Years away
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 13:42
lol Ussually when I see 2 or 3 subjects that I want to keep close,I open them in separate webpage then read,then I post and I sometimes get the feeling "OMG I think I replied to the wrong post". And at time I do too.

Just remember that you're standing on a planet that's evolving
And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour!
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 14:07
lol... well wrong relpy or not it is a good point, export to a 3rd party format suchas DirectX and no one is any the wiser if you've pirated or not

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Kangaroo2
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 14:58
I always use *.x files anyway. They need to fix that if they want to clamp down on unregistered users...

* If the apocalypse comes, email me *
Van B
Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 16:13
Hmmm, one thing, what happens when you load a .3DS model into 3D Exploration, then export it as a .3DS - does it retain the watermark?

I reckon it's a daft idea to watermark them anyway, pro's would'nt use the .3DS format, so the only people they'd ever catch are hobbyists!. Really, companies like Discreet should release hobbyist versions for guys like us. Let them charge development houses a fortune for Max. It could be argued that if you can't afford it, don't use it - but Max is the best option for DB models, I've never been able to set hierarchies or pivot points in any free modeller I've used.


Van-B
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 17:46
not sure about that... i'd doubt it thou

personally i think best for animating for darkbasic is trueSpace 4.3 and best for modelling is Milkshape.
the hobbyiest tools for people who are really working on hobbies. I mean i know trueSpace is used professionally but for home users the price is oftenly pretty cheap, as they sell to businesses for $799 but for home users $214, yeah still a lil pricey for a hobby - but alot of people who get into hobbies pay alot at the beggining.

Like you wanna get into Xtreme BMXing you're talkin about that for a decent BMW that has rotational headset and footpegs, light titainium frame and ballanced V brakes

which is still over $250 less than Max for students. Discreet have always ripped everyone off, for something i've personally felt isn't worth it ... Lightwave is far more worth a higher price tag, and feels much more professional to use generally, with a much easier UI.

Maya has always been super expensive, but really - you have to want to learn it and its easy and more power behind it than that boy racer down the road with his souped up Escort!

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
Megaman X
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 19:18
bla, this is the crack world... with a little effort u may broken the watermark in some way...

"Never argue with an Idiot, they will always bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience."
-- Rogue
Shadow Robert
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 13th Dec 2002 20:24
i wouldn't be so sure about it Rouge ... i'll be damn'd if someones gonna pirate my own software, crack it or any of the software that FMTau is to publish.

Been working for literally months with alot of ideas on how to combat it in a way which baffles anyone who tries
Right now i'm proud of the results, especially as i've let someone else code the final stages and network stuff.

Been thinking about watermarking formats as well to find out whats being used ... and i've had some good ideas that plan to get implimented

i finally got DBpro installed so hopefully i can finish the DarkBasic version relatively quickly

Anata aru kowagaru no watashi!
John H
Retired Moderator
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 16th Dec 2002 23:34
Even if you do get 3ds max, you wouldnt want to make such high quality models. Too high poly, wouldnt run in DB.

RPGamer

(whered the maker of this post go anyways?)

Current - RPG: Eternal Destiny : Help Wanted!
Upcoming- MMOFPS- Paintball Game: HELP WANTED!
Http://halbrosproductions.netfirms.com

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-08-13 18:30:15
Your offset time is: 2020-08-13 18:30:15