Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / array problems

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm trying to write a program that will take a polygon, and convert it into triangles. I have the algorithm worked out, and i have it coded, but im having some problems compiling it to start debugging, and it's because of a dynamic struct array.

Basically, its an array called triangles, which holds x1,x2,x3,y1,y2, and y3. The problem seems to be when i put in triangles[], to delete the array or find the size. I have no clue what im doing wrong here, because im a newbie to c++. Im gonna post up the entire program because it needs a looking over from someone who knows what they're doing anyways.

In case you wanna know how the algorithm works (for clarity or interest), here it is:

Excluded vertices are red, the current vertices are green, the tris are green, and the polygon is black. Heres how it works:
1. find the leftmost vertex
2. find the two adjacent, non excluded vertices
3. create a triangle
4. find the next leftmost vertex
5. find the two adjacent, non excluded vertices
6. create a triangle
7. repeat

Also, this is only the second usable program i've written in c++, so if theres anything stupid im doing, any bad habits im forming, or anything else, please tell me!

Iuzidal
Years of Service
User Offline
Looks like you have a local and a global variable with the same name.
tri* triangles=new tri[1]; is repeated twice.

I would ditch the array and look into using an stl container like a vector which will handle all the memory management for you.

Something like (pseudocode)

I had to turn off the debug runtime lib in 2008 to use STL.
Config Properties-> C++ -> Code Gen -> Runtime Library set to /MT
Bran flakes91093