Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Different IDE

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jul 2009 02:15 Edited at: 29th Jul 2009 23:35
How would one go about using a different IDE with DarkGDK? I imagine it's not as simple as just including DarkGDK.h and compiling with MinGW.

I ask this because I'm not sure how much longer I can stand VS...

Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jul 2009 02:35
What's wrong with VS? (not that I'm a Microsoft fan)

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
Phosphoer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jul 2009 03:37 Edited at: 29th Jul 2009 23:35
Here are my thoughts:

1. It's the opposite of light weight.
2. The 'intellisense' works about 25% of the time.
3. As far as I can tell, you can't have multiple source windows open at the same time, only tabs. If you do change the option to 'multiple windows', they are still constrained to the small area within the program. I'd like to be able to pop them out.
4. You can't just write some code and compile it as you could with MinGW + Notepad, you have to make a 'project', which is annoying for small tests.

Honestly though my main beef is the crappy code-completion. Half the time when I'm coding it fails to pop up with any suggestions and the text at the bottom says something about how intellisense couldn't recognize the phrase, even though I'm 100% it's correct. I have to delete it and type it 5-10 times and maybe compile once or twice before it will finally recognize it. And it's not even a new command that it perhaps hasn't indexed yet, it will be something that I've gotten suggestions for a million times in the past, just for some reason not this time.