Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Need help with time.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi. I am a beginner so i am making a simple game-like thingy just for laughs. I put an image of some guy as the background and on the bottom a little ship sprite that shoots lasers. When you hit the guy into the left or right eye every three times, the program adds a sprite of blood to it, until the eyes explode. That's about all i have for now, but a game isn't a game if it isn't a chalenge. What i want to do is to make a laser shoot out of his eyes every second.
Example a laser shoots out of left eye, a second later a laser shoots out of the right eye and so on.

I have no idea how to make the game wait for a second until it does something. I tried to use dbTimer and i can't even make it shoot a single laser after it waits for 5 seconds. I set dbTimer and then "if (dbTimer==5000){ [shoot laser code]} and that didn't even work so i have no idea what i'm doing wrong, please help!

here's the code:

Thank you!
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Aug 2009 00:56
I haven't followed your shooting code yet but I'd like to comment on some unnecessary code going on.

Every time through the loop you're calling create_player(). That function then proceeds to size the sprite, set an offset and set priority. For any given sprite this need only be done once, preferably outside the loop, unless something changes on any of them.

Call create_player() before you enter the look and don't call it after. Put a dbSprite(a, x, y, b) call in your move_player () function after you've determined the new position. If there is no change there's no need to call dbSprite().

Lilith, Night Butterfly