Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / sidescroller help

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
im have three problems making a sidescrolling game. the first one is that i cant get the screen to scroll when i get to the edge of the screen, the second one is when you jump you float at the top of the jump if you hold the jump button down, and the third one is i cant get collision to work properly any help would be great
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Aug 2009 21:14
Quote: "any help would be great"

So would some code to give an idea of what you're attempting.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
Caleb1994
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Aug 2009 21:18
The SCREEN doesn't really scroll, it's your background and level and stuff so to move to the right you take away from your backgrounds X position and it makes the apperance of a "Camera" moving.

I am not sure asi have no code from it but my first geuss is put a switch so like this:

If you are using native collision commands then it would be something like this:

if your using custom collision then just substitute the "dbSpriteCollision" with your collision function. pretty much just change the position then check for collision. if there is collision move it back because theres no update inbatween the user doesn't see the change.

New Site! Check it out \/
Patrick987
Years of Service
User Offline
ok sorry it took so long but heres my source

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Patrick987
Years of Service
User Offline
if anyone could help me that would be great ive tried everything i could think of to fix the problems
Mireben
Years of Service
User Offline