Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / I newbie wants to in understandable words the power of DB.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all... im new to the world or programming, and to DB. I had coded but something minnimal in DB.

What i see are features the Compiler has but, since i dont know other compilers/languajes i cant compare. Now lets assume a group of professional programmers(or a gaming company) uses DBPro to make a game. Using DBPro the final game(lets say about 3 or 4 years in the work) how competitive will be to other games in the market?
(Speaking in a cold, objective way w/o favoritism to DBPRO)
Competitive speaking graphics, speed, sound etc.

Thanks for your time
gbuilder
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Sep 2002 23:06
It's a little early to know yet how DBPro will stack up against C++ but all the early indications are that it will do the job necessary to make sellable professional programs.
The next two weeks should see an abundance of quick fire demos appear to be able to judge from.
The advantage of DBPro over C++ is that it is a 'game specific' language which means that programming time can be minimised.

gbuilder.

Life is a game.
Rob K
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Sep 2002 23:26
Effectively the DarkBasic team have done all the hard work, leaving the development team to produce the end result and concentrate on the game.

Main advantages:

- Much faster to program: Easier to learn and the miles of code that go into producing one effect have been simplified into single commands.

- Highly compatible: DB Pro had already been tested on many machines and works fine