Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / The horrible dillema with DarkGDK framerates

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Aug 2009 22:51
So, first off, I'm a total newb to GDK. I've been using DBP for about 4 years now, and I decided it was time to make the switch.

Here is my insane problem.

Take a look at my code first:

I understand that GDK has a Vsync framerate barrier of 60fps.

But the insane part is- I get a solid 30fps when running that code!

So I tried to re simulate this is exact code, but instead in DarkBasic Pro.

Here is my DBP code...

And wa-la! I was successful. I get the exact same, steady 30fps framerate as I did when running the similar code in DarkGDK.

I realized that the problem lied completely in the 'VSync' parameter in 'Set Display Mode'.

As you can see, in my DBP code I set the 'VSync' to 1 because that's how it is set by default in DarkGDK. That's the reason I got the same result.

So get this: I change that 1 to a 0, turning VSync off when setting the display mode in DBP, and my framerate skyrocketed to it's max, as it should with the sync rate set to 0. It went up above 100 and skedaddled around there. I could even change the Sync Rate to 60 and it would stay capped there.

I thought I figured out how to fix that cap in DarkGDK too. I just had to turn VSync off when setting the display mode.

And it turns out, with the latest version of DarkGDK and everything, the command dbSetDisplayMode doesn't have a 4th arguement for setting VSync!

So now I'm at a complete loss for what I can do about this.
I played around with it some more in DarkGDK, and these are the results I got.

DarkGDK Framerate Results (VSync on by Default)