Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Music & Sound FX / how would you make a voice robotic like in portal?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Aug 2009 00:44
If you haven't played portal, an example is attached.

Is there any one filter to create that robotic and computer-generated effect, or does it take a lot of layered filters? if it does, what are they? (sorry if it is obvious, I am a beginner to audio)

I have audacity for a program, but the commands are basically the same on most software.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Grandma
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Aug 2009 02:05
Uh yeah, I believe you can make that a reality with a neat app called goldwave. It's free, mostly. I've used it to create robotic sounding voices before. It can do much more than that though.

This message was brought to you by Grandma industries.

Making yesterdays games, today!
thenerd
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Aug 2009 13:39
thanks! but that's a trial version oh well, good for now!

Grandma
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Aug 2009 14:47
But it never runs out, it just bugs you.

This message was brought to you by Grandma industries.

Making yesterdays games, today!
thenerd
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Aug 2009 14:48
awesome!

zeroSlave
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Aug 2009 20:31
Yeah, Goldwave rocks. I even use it to record tracks off my 8track before I import them into Cakewalk. It has cool effects, and awesome clipping abilities.

There's something in this room that makes you can't speak well.
Pozag
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Aug 2009 18:28 Edited at: 20th Aug 2009 18:34