Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / 2D RPG Project.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm a novice, but I'm shooting big. I've already got the entire story ready, and I have the concept of the game in my head...

So, how would I put an RPG system in a sidescroller game?
Grog Grueslayer
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Green Hell
Posted: 20th Aug 2009 10:07
You really should start smaller and not try to shoot for the moon when you're just learning about Darkbasic.

To do an RPG you need to use arrays to store all the stats of your main character and arrays to store the hp of the bad guys and the damage amount their weapon deals.

Van B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Aug 2009 11:56
Arrays, typed arrays, array that can be filled using function, dynamic arrays, arrays and a side order of arrays.

They are vital, the more you know about them the better, if you know everything about them then you'll already know what they can do.