Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Map Making

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm making a 2D Puzzle game, similar to Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee.
And I am very new to Dark.
I know my way around C++, it's just the dark Specific stuff I'm having trouble with.

So, without giving me Code to Copy Paste, I wanna feel like I dominated it, can you help me figure out how to do this.

I need my Character to walk in a grid, but smoothly walk from square to square.
And it's a side-scroller.

I know I'll have to make an array, and that'll be the coordinate system in which he walks, but too much more beyond that, I don't know.

One Idea I have, is that I just have a 1D array, that stands for x coordinates.
And then, My character can move freely, but when He stops, I divide his x coordinate by the grid, and then round up, and make him stop in the corresponding column.
But rounding up would only work for one direction.
Though, I could make a test to see if he's going right or left.

Is there a rounding function for C++, or would I have to divide integers, then see if the Remainder = 0, and if not, Add 1?
I'm gonna try this, and Post my results.
Mista Wilson
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Aug 2009 11:18
You said in a previous post that you had used allegro to do the same thing almost that you are asking here... I have used allegro myself a little(I prefer GDK personally though) and it is very similar to GDK.

I think for a game as simple as you are asking about, the logic that you followed in allegro, would also apply in GDK, at least from the point of view of how you setup your arrays and the algorithms etc that you will use, the maths for movement etc etc....