Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / GUI Help

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all,
I am new to DB and recently purachased the Dark Game Studio since it was such a good deal. Anyway, I have been wanting to port an old text game that I wrote in Pascal several years ago and update it with a nice GUI. I have searched the Forums for anything GUI related and have had no luck. I have Extends but cant find any helpful examples and I found BlueGUI but dont want to spend any more $$ right now. It doesnt have to be anything fancy I just want something to make a point and click interface on the screen and i would probably have several different screens. And the ability to display lots of information to the user. If that makes any sense. Just as an example I am thinking of the different stations that would exist on a starship. i.e. Command, Helm, Navigation, Science, Engineering, etc. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Dark Dragon
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Sep 2009 03:05
Wait, did I hear Port? lol, Jk.

Anyhoo, erm.....before we can help you, We know u recently got DGStudio, but which langauge are you actually using?

(\__/) HHAHAHAHAHAH!
(O.o ) / WORLD DOMINATION!!!!!!!!!!
(> < )
Grog Grueslayer
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Green Hell
Posted: 4th Sep 2009 03:39
You don't have to use BlueGUI to track mouseclicks within areas on a screen.

Check out this thread:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=156017&b=1

ascii2k9
Years of Service
User Offline
@Dark Dragon - Yes, you heard port ..as in port from Pascal to BASIC. Which language? I guess that would be Dark Basic Professional...