Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / LOTR game

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Aug 2003 07:40
Hi guys, i watched the first two of the trilogy the other night and it got me inspired to make a cool lotr game, im thinking of making multiplayer just a hack fest game with the last alliance and the urak hai (orcs of mashment as i like to call them). I started playing round making my own terrain models etc with buildings and trees, then i played round with a small engine to put them in, im especially proud of the random tree placement forest that is fogged in teh backgroun dof this picture.

it looks pretty bare but thats cause i havent put anything else in, just been playing round with it to see if i can keep the fps going steady with lots of objects, the forest is 150 trees strong and my fps doesnt go under 30 when i wander through it. I also tried makign a player model and modified the code to allow for a 3rd person view, which is what i want eventually as it will be easier for the swordplay. But my model sucks total arse. It is the worst model i've made, i made it in like 20 mins and its supposed to be of the last alliance humans, but it looks so poor so i wont post a pic of it. i got it good on 3rd person (un animated) but collision doesnt work with most of the objects, it seems the rock wall and a few trees seem to make it stop whereas it floats through buildings. Anywya if anyone is interested in lending a hand or just to know a bit more about the game give me a bell. I'm also thinking of making a syndicate game, which will pretty much be the same as this but with a future city and models like the old games.

Falelorn
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Aug 2003 08:47