Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / how do I get Visual Studio to use the correct version of DX9 SDK?

Author
VIP Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 14th Sep 2009 18:01 Edited at: 14th Sep 2009 18:38
I've had the November 2007 version of the SDK installed on my system for some time with no obvious problems. However, I'm now trying to use DarkGDK and I keep getting a linker error:

I've been told that I need the August 2007 SDK which I have now installed (after two and half hours of download!!) - but I keep getting the same error. I'm sure there's a simple solution but I'm a real novice when it comes to Visual Studio and am stuck.

Edit I found four threads discussing this problem but just don't understand the advice given. For example, this is what Mike Johnson says:

Quote: "Some changes have been made in the DirectX SDK November 2007 release which meant the multiplayer functionality in the GDK is affected. For now this means you will have to install the August 2007 SDK. You can still have both installed. Just make sure that the paths are set up correctly in your compiler so the August SDK has priority."

How exactly do you set up the paths correctly? What paths? Where do I find them? What should they read? Etc, etc?

All I am trying to do is to get some simple demos to run - I haven't even started programming yet.

Edit2 OK. Worked out how to add a new library search path - I had simply failed to notice that one option was a Drop-down list. Sad, but true.